Brand New MSI GE72 Missing Memory?

Status
Not open for further replies.

soulboundpath

Reputable
Aug 29, 2015
please help.. im a noob when it comes to things like this i really need a hand, i bought this laptop here not even 2 days ago: see specifications: http://www.msi.com/product/notebook/GE72-2QE-Apache-Pro.html#hero-specification

it says im supposed to have Up to 768GB Super RAID 2 + 1TB HDD 7200rpm
however my pc looks like this: http://imgur.com/SqEuNh7 doesnt look right at all?

first thing i did using it was install windows 10, basically i have hardly even begun installing stuff and im out of space please please help.. my 4 year old far cheaper laptop currently has more space than this new one i dont know whats wrong or how to fix it? imkind of desperate, please any help is most appreciated...

Well looking at it for the Os boot drive the drive before it was formatted would of been about 200 GB in size.
And the data storage drive would of been about 80 GB in size. look in the bios of the laptop it will quote the real size of both the hard drives fitted to the laptop as a second check.

So your right both the drives in size are not even close to what was quoted, basically if it stated the drives were X amount in GB or gigabytes you have been diddled, no two ways about it.

I won`t ask how much you paid for the laptop, but I can tell you the two drives shown in your picture post are about 5 years old.
So t`s not a new system but a second hand one right I assume?
Bought from a private seller of the laptop yes?

If it is new and bought via e-bay or Gumtree, then the private seller has taken the drives that were quoted as the specs of the laptop out and replaced them for smaller drives.

Double check the specs of the laptop, by getting its brand name and the model number located on the underside of the laptop on a sticker. Ah you already did, Good job there !