Broadwell Vs Haswell (Devil's Canyon)

XtremeAero426

Honorable
Jan 4, 2014
So I'm researching for my upgrade that I'm currently investing for that will take place in late December or early January. I was wondering, at that time, will Broadwell be worth it over Haswell(Devil's Canyon) in terms of Overclocking and performance?

Importance in Choice:
- Main Factor: Overclocking

Things I already know:
- Broadwell has little to no performance increase.
- Broadwell offers the new 14nm lithography and lower power consumption.

Key Questions:
- How much higher can I overclock a Broadwell processor than a Haswell (Devil's Canyon), specifically the 4790K? (I have a Cooler Master V8 GTS CPU Cooler with Tuniq MX-2 Thermal Paste)
- [strike]Will Broadwell be supported by Z97?(Because if not I'm definitely not getting it.)[/strike]
A: Broadwell is compatible with Z97. (Thanks guys!)

NOTE: I do not have an Intel Processor. This is a switch from AMD to Intel.

Skylyne

Reputable
Sep 7, 2014
If you have a Haswell chip right now, the only benefit you'd get from going Broadwell is that you'd be running the newest line of Intel CPU. There's no point in upgrading from Haswell to Broadwell, from what has been released.

As far as OC'ing is concerned, until the Broadwell chips come out, I don't think anyone can accurately tell you how well it will OC. If you can wait until the OC'ed reviews of the Broadwell chips start to pour in, that will tell you more than speculation will. Even if they had stated their intended goal to be better OC'ing, you never really know what the final product will give you in the real world. OC'ing capabilities are mostly going to be little more than pure speculation at this point, and it's a bad idea to base buying decisions on speculations in this instance.

On the upside, the Z97 boards will be Broadwell compatible.

Can't answer your query as of now because broadwell is not yet out so no benchmark or performance info is available.