[SOLVED] BSOD (Clock_Watchdog_Timeout) on brand new pre-built system (NZXT BLD) - how concerned should I be?

Minaz

Commendable
Sep 20, 2021
I am aware that all computers BSOD from time to time, but I have a brand new pre-built NZXT BLD that did a Clock_Watchdog_Timeout BSOD while being mostly idle (the web browser was open and a video was paused on it, and that's it). I have installed a couple of diagnostic programs on the hard drive since owning the PC but none of them were running at the time. I have not done anything else software wise other than to run the Windows 10 updater a couple of times to get the most recent updates. Hardware wise, I installed a new 2 new M.2 drives and 2 new SATA HDDs, and to do so I did have to remove the GPU card a few times but of course its back in. I'm not an expert at hardware by any means but I was careful.

There are two yellow exclamation marks in the device manager, (Other) PCI Device and (Other) SM Bus Controller, however, I tried removing them and using windows update as well as third party driver updaters, none seem to resolve this issue. Could these be causing the BSOD in question?

How concerned should I be about this BSOD, I mean is it on the level where I should be requesting an RMA and finding a box to ship the system back, or is it not entirely unexpected and I should calm down and try to find a way to fix it?

Solution
Clock watchdog is a cpu error.
try updating chipset drivers, they might fix those 2 devices in Device manager

What are specs of the PC?
A bios update on motherboard could help

Brand new PC shouldn't BSOD.
From time to time? my period between BSOD is about 6 years and 2 different PC.

Can you follow option one on the following link - here - and then do this step below: Small memory dumps - Have Windows Create a Small Memory Dump (Minidump) on BSOD - that creates a file in c windows/minidump after the next BSOD
  1. Open Windows File Explore
  2. Navigate to C:\Windows\Minidump