Question bsod help

PC Tailor

Distinguished
Herald
Please see the BSOD post in my signature for details to include in BSOD posts:
  • Are you able to get us the dump file for us to download?
  • What is your full system spec including PSU make and model.
Bugcheck 124 is WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR - which standard for Windows Hardware Error Architecture:

A WHEA ERROR is almost solely hardware based. It is possible in rare circumstances for this to be a driver, however it is very unlikely. It is often caused by:
  • Component overheating
  • Unstable overclocking or XMP profile
  • Faulty hardware
Some outdated BIOS issues can cause WHEA issues, but not too often.

Until we get hold of the dump files perhaps, you may want to consider these:
CPU Test and Stressing
RAM Tests - Memtest
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Did you clean install after the upgrades? Unlikely cause of WHEA but you never know, if its got all old drivers on it, its always possible.

can you go to c:/windows/minidump and copy the minidump files to another folder
upload the copies from the new folder to a file sharing website and show link here? (this stops need for step 1 of the link in PC Tailors sig)

are you overclocked as that can cause WHEA errors.
 

arcticyuki

Honorable
Oct 29, 2014
28
0
10,530
0
Did you clean install after the upgrades? Unlikely cause of WHEA but you never know, if its got all old drivers on it, its always possible.

can you go to c:/windows/minidump and copy the minidump files to another folder
upload the copies from the new folder to a file sharing website and show link here? (this stops need for step 1 of the link in PC Tailors sig)

are you overclocked as that can cause WHEA errors.
no its not a clean install and no oc.
hear are the files https://www.dropbox.com/sh/g5k1lxev6jbi1fp/AAByNU0REQZmpvJtJ06vUMvza?dl=0
and i ran 3d mark http://www.3dmark.com/nrst/11865
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
I would try a clean install as when you swap CPU & Motherboard there are enough changes to warrant a new start.

dumps might include drivers for old hardware, not new.

You might get better performance out of it too
 

arcticyuki

Honorable
Oct 29, 2014
28
0
10,530
0
I would try a clean install as when you swap CPU & Motherboard there are enough changes to warrant a new start.

dumps might include drivers for old hardware, not new.

You might get better performance out of it too
not something i want to do is there a way to sort it out
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
See what PC finds in the dump files, you might be lucky.

swapping 10 onto new mobo/cpu likely cause it to be deactivated once the activation servers check hardware. MIght not happen right away.
 

arcticyuki

Honorable
Oct 29, 2014
28
0
10,530
0
See what PC finds in the dump files, you might be lucky.

swapping 10 onto new mobo/cpu likely cause it to be deactivated once the activation servers check hardware. MIght not happen right away.
windows is still activated how do i read dump files
 

PC Tailor

Distinguished
Herald
I have run the dump file(s) and you can see the full report(s) here:

https://pste.eu/p/p5Iz.html - WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR
https://pste.eu/p/x1CK.html - WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR
https://pste.eu/p/32Lz.html - WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR
https://pste.eu/p/vThB.html - WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR

Summary of findings:
WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR
"A WHEA ERROR is almost solely hardware based. It is possible in rare circumstances for this to be a driver, however it is very unlikely. It is often caused by:
  • Component overheating
  • Unstable overclocking or XMP profile
  • Faulty hardware"
Some things to consider:
- Nothing obvious at this point pulling from the dump files, and they are all WHEA 124 errors.

However I would go back to my original queries:
What is your full system spec including PSU make and model.
Some outdated BIOS issues can cause WHEA issues, but not too often. What is your BIOS version?
Are your RAM modules from the same physical pack?

As Colif has stated, you may need to clean install windows too - and unfortunately as much as you may not want to, there is a reason why clean installation is recommended after major hardware change, because Windows isn't as interchangeable as many believe it is. Would I expect it to cause WHEA? Not necessarily, but it could.

Despite that, if it has only occurred since changing CPU and MB, I would typically lean towards CPU being the problem. Even bent / damaged / contaminated pins can cause all manner of havoc.
 

arcticyuki

Honorable
Oct 29, 2014
28
0
10,530
0
I have run the dump file(s) and you can see the full report(s) here:

https://pste.eu/p/p5Iz.html - WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR
https://pste.eu/p/x1CK.html - WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR
https://pste.eu/p/32Lz.html - WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR
https://pste.eu/p/vThB.html - WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR

Summary of findings:


Some things to consider:

- Nothing obvious at this point pulling from the dump files, and they are all WHEA 124 errors.

However I would go back to my original queries:
What is your full system spec including PSU make and model.
Some outdated BIOS issues can cause WHEA issues, but not too often. What is your BIOS version?
Are your RAM modules from the same physical pack?

As Colif has stated, you may need to clean install windows too - and unfortunately as much as you may not want to, there is a reason why clean installation is recommended after major hardware change, because Windows isn't as interchangeable as many believe it is. Would I expect it to cause WHEA? Not necessarily, but it could.

Despite that, if it has only occurred since changing CPU and MB, I would typically lean towards CPU being the problem. Even bent / damaged / contaminated pins can cause all manner of havoc.
sorry for the late reply
ok i full specs are
i7 9700k
msi z390
8gb kingston
4gb balistix
250 m.2
1tb hdd
evga 600 b
i have reset windows
and the bsod happens once every 24-48 hours
i have also after the reset had a memory bsod
i do think it it could be the ram
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
WHEA errors that survive resets aren't likely software

is ram on motherboard listing?

Try running memtest86 on each of your ram sticks, one stick at a time, up to 4 passes. Only error count you want is 0, any higher could be cause of the BSOD. Remove/replace ram sticks with errors.

Did you run Intel processor diagnostic tool as the memory controller is on the CPU and it was one of your 2 new items.
 

arcticyuki

Honorable
Oct 29, 2014
28
0
10,530
0
WHEA errors that survive resets aren't likely software

is ram on motherboard listing?

Try running memtest86 on each of your ram sticks, one stick at a time, up to 4 passes. Only error count you want is 0, any higher could be cause of the BSOD. Remove/replace ram sticks with errors.

Did you run Intel processor diagnostic tool as the memory controller is on the CPU and it was one of your 2 new items.
yeah i ran the tool passed
memtest passed
im am now getting freezes the require a pc restart
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Just wondering if checking the pins on motherboard would show anything (under CPU)

WHEA errors can be any hardware, makes it a case of looking at all hardware and testing it. Its possible moving a part onto new motherboard damaged it

You run Intel tool
Try running Prime95 - it also tests ram - https://www.mersenne.org/download/
You run Memtest
what brand is m.2?= and hdd?
HD Sentinel is a general hdd test - https://www.hdsentinel.com/hard_disk_sentinel_trial.php - open disk tab and run any tests you can

only real tests for psu are:
the paper clip method - https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/what-is-the-paperclip-method-of-testing-a-psu.1336402/

or multimeter,

or in the BIOS to check the +3.3V, +5V, and +12V. - https://www.lifewire.com/power-supply-voltage-tolerances-2624583

there are no tests for motherboard. Just a process of elimination. You check everything else first. If it gets to stage its either PSU or motherboard, I would get PC checked out by a repair store as they might be able to narrow it down further than a guess.
 

arcticyuki

Honorable
Oct 29, 2014
28
0
10,530
0
Just wondering if checking the pins on motherboard would show anything (under CPU)

WHEA errors can be any hardware, makes it a case of looking at all hardware and testing it. Its possible moving a part onto new motherboard damaged it

You run Intel tool
Try running Prime95 - it also tests ram - https://www.mersenne.org/download/
You run Memtest
what brand is m.2?= and hdd?
HD Sentinel is a general hdd test - https://www.hdsentinel.com/hard_disk_sentinel_trial.php - open disk tab and run any tests you can

only real tests for psu are:
the paper clip method - https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/what-is-the-paperclip-method-of-testing-a-psu.1336402/

or multimeter,

or in the BIOS to check the +3.3V, +5V, and +12V. - https://www.lifewire.com/power-supply-voltage-tolerances-2624583

there are no tests for motherboard. Just a process of elimination. You check everything else first. If it gets to stage its either PSU or motherboard, I would get PC checked out by a repair store as they might be able to narrow it down further than a guess.
m.2 is samsung
hdd is seagate
 

arcticyuki

Honorable
Oct 29, 2014
28
0
10,530
0
Last edited:

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Do you get the freezes in safe mode?

if yes, its hardware, If no, it could be drivers (although safe mode doesn't stress hardware as much so it could also still be hardware)

You say Intel test passed, did you also run Prime95 as it also tests CPU and might be a good 2nd opinion.

Motherboard impossible to test, so we check everything else 1st and only then blame motherboard if everything else works fine.

And if you at point where its either CPU or Motherboard, your best bet is take PC to repair store and get them to confirm which part it is before you go spending money without being sure.
 
Reactions: PC Tailor

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS