Question BSOD IRQL NOT LESS OR EQUAL during gaming

Jul 19, 2019
14
0
10
0
I've had this problem for several days now. If I am playing GTA V or using my X-Plane 11 flight simulator, the game freezes and the computer restarts itself, with the message IRQL NOT LESS OR EQUAL on the blue screen. I've updated all the drivers, reinstalled the game, reinstalled Windows, used all possible commands (chkdsk, SFC scannow, DISM, everything), checked computer temperatures (all normal).

I checked the memories with the Windows checker and Memtest86, no errors found. I checked both the SSD and the HD with HDTune, no errors found either.

I updated the BIOS, and used the default settings. The problem continues.

My PC has new parts - motherboard, CPU, RAM memories purchased last month. Video card with one year of use only.

BlueScreenView points out that the error is in ntoskrnl.exe, that is, in the kernel, core of the operating system. The dumps of the last situations of blue screen that I had is in the following link (I didn't used the Driver Verifier yet, just the dumps from the last in-game crashes):

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AnZznFv0oDokh3bcgZ4Tl-AjpABT?e=5vod9Y

Please, help me.
 
Jul 19, 2019
14
0
10
0
Oh, sorry I forgot to mention my specs

I have an I7-8700 non K
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS B360M Gaming 3
16 GB RAM (2x HyperX Fury, 8GB, 2666MHz, DDR4, CL16, black - HX426C16FB2/8)
GTX 1060 6GB Gigabyte
SSD 500 GB Seagate Barracuda
HD 1 TB Toshiba (+4 years of use)
PSU 750W Seventeam ATX 750W V-Force ST-750Z AF (+4 years of use, just bought new PSU, waiting the mail)
 
Jul 19, 2019
14
0
10
0
Please, anyone help me... Got a new PSU, reinstalled Windows, updated drivers, cleaned the RAM modules - and the problem persists...
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
result of dumps - https://pste.eu/p/fvVZ.html

do you have a touchpad? just trying to figure out why you have a Synaptics driver (might not be problem, it just seems out of place)

Did you run Gigabyte app centre to update drivers, as the version of Intel Management Engine Interface currently installed is older than the installed BIOS and it generally helps if they are the same. You can find the app centre here: https://www.gigabyte.com/au/Motherboard/B360M-AORUS-GAMING-3-rev-10/support#support-dl-utility
 
Jul 19, 2019
14
0
10
0
No, I don't use touchpad.

Just downloaded app Center, clicked to update some drivers and now It is installing several apps (that I didnt wanted to install). Actually It is stuck on dowloading "@bios" stuff. It never ends. The circular progress bar reaches the end and then restarts. I'm afraid about It damaging my BIOS or something. Please help
 

gardenman

Admirable
Herald
Hi, I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://pste.eu/p/F4j8.html

File information:072819-15875-01.dmp (Jul 28 2019 - 21:46:53)
Bugcheck:DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (D1)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 00 Min(s), and 19 Sec(s)

Possible Motherboard page: https://www.gigabyte.com/us/Motherboard/B360M-AORUS-GAMING-3-rev-10#kf
As you stated, you have the latest BIOS already installed.

This information can be used by others to help you. I can't help you with this. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
what USB devices do you have? one solution to classpnp.sys errors is remove external USB devices
seems errors calling out that driver are often hardware errors

Synaptics driver not showing now. Half drivers on system now are part of Symantec that wasn't there yesterday so we can't really blame it.
 
Jul 19, 2019
14
0
10
0
Did another clean install of windows 10, now using the bootable USB, which installed the latest OS version (win 10 1903). Still getting the BSOD errors.

I want to isolate the few old hardware items that I have, but I don't want to retire them from the desktop case. Can I just unplug the SATA and power cables from my old HDD and try to turn the PC on? (My Windows is installed in a SSD)

Also, the SeaTools from Seagate says that a new firmware is available for my SSD. What is the chance of an old firmware is causing the BSODs?

Please, please help
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
I want to isolate the few old hardware items that I have, but I don't want to retire them from the desktop case. Can I just unplug the SATA and power cables from my old HDD and try to turn the PC on? (My Windows is installed in a SSD)
Yes

BSOD after a clean install likely means it is hardware of some sort. So isolating the hdd is a start in narrowing down cause.

Firmware could help.
 
Jul 19, 2019
14
0
10
0
I tested yesterday the PC without video card, without one of the RAM sticks (I alternated the two 8gb sticks), cleared CMOS, reset BIOS and nothing, the problem continued.

I suspect it's the motherboard. At the moment the PC is in an support for the components to be tested in another mobo.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
The dump you last provided was from before you last fresh install, we have to assume some things have changed since then. So since you are still getting BSOD, you need to set PC up for minidumps and provide any dumps you can to see if it is a software problem. Follow option one on the following link - here - and then do this step below: Small memory dumps - Have Windows Create a Small Memory Dump (Minidump) on BSOD

that creates a file in c windows/minidump after the next BSOD
copy that file to documents
upload the copy from documents to a file sharing web site, and share the link here and I will get someone to convert file into a format I can read

Have you got the new PSU yet?
memtest was fine,
hdtune found no errors.
Errors continue without GPU
memory controller is on CPU so try this - https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/19792/Intel-Processor-Diagnostic-Tool
 
Jul 19, 2019
14
0
10
0
Thanks Calvin. Resetting XMP is a procedure that I've never done before. I'll do some google on how to perform this, and will read the file you provided.
 

gardenman

Admirable
Herald
I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://pste.eu/p/GYnZ.html

File information:080319-15968-01.dmp (Aug 3 2019 - 13:45:33)
Bugcheck:SYSTEM_THREAD_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M (1000007E)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 00 Min(s), and 19 Sec(s)

This information can be used by others to help you. I can't help you with this. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Confused, where is calvin getting 1st ram code from?

System reports - KHX2666C16/8G which from the little I can find of them show as 2x8gb set - https://www.memorybenchmark.net/ram.php?ram=Kingston+KHX2666C16/8G+8GB&id=10653

Not saying he is wrong... I mean, if they same sticks, the last BSOD happened with both sticks in system still, so it doesn't prove anything
the process that crashed was part of kernel, all the drivers loaded were from this year. Try his steps.
 
Jul 19, 2019
14
0
10
0
Sorry for the delay. I was testing the PC after changing my XMP profile from "disabled" to "profile1". No crashes yesterday, but today I got BSODed again. IRQL NOT LESS OR EQUAL again.

Dump is here: https://1drv.ms/u/s!AnZznFv0oDokiQhmJ25dlet-rgdi?e=vHtWvb

My memory modules (HX426C16FB2/8) are supported by my motherboard, as seen on this link:

https://download.gigabyte.asia/FileLi...s-gaming-3.pdf

Someone on other forum told me that there is no guarantee that two equal RAM modules bought separately will work together. I did not know that two absolutely identical memory modules might not be compatible. I just bought two separate units of them, not a set of two. Never knew this before.

Well I just dont know what to do now. I think I will return my motherboard and my RAM to manufacturers. I'm tired of this.
 

gardenman

Admirable
Herald
I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://pste.eu/p/49bF.html

File information:080519-15421-01.dmp (Aug 5 2019 - 19:47:24)
Bugcheck:IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime:1 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 18 Min(s), and 15 Sec(s)

This information can be used by others to help you. I can't help you with this. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Someone on other forum told me that there is no guarantee that two equal RAM modules bought separately will work together. I did not know that two absolutely identical memory modules might not be compatible. I just bought two separate units of them, not a set of two. Never knew this before.

Well I just dont' know what to do now. I think I will return my motherboard and my RAM to manufacturers. I'm tired of this.
that someone is correct. the sticks sold as sets are matched to themselves to ensure they work as a pair. It gets worse the more sticks you add, trying to run 4 non matched sticks is russian roulette

I would return RAM and get a matched set and see if it makes any difference.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS