• Now's your chance win big! Join our community and get entered to win a RTX 2060 GPU, plus more! Join here.

    Pi Cast Episode 3 streams live on Tuesday, August 4th at 2:30 pm ET (7:30 PM BST). Watch live right here!

    Catch Scharon on the Tom's Hardware Show live on Thursday, August 6th at 2:00 pm ET (7:00 PM BST). Click here!

[SOLVED] BSOD When playing games

Jul 5, 2020
8
2
15
0
So I bought a new laptop Acer Predator Helios 300 (2019) i5-9th gen rtx 2060. It has been a month and I have frequent BSOD playing heavy games like APEX LEGENDS or COD:WZ but can handle games like League of legends. BSOD varies from SYSTEM\_SERVICE\_EXCEPTION, UNEXPECTED\_STORE EXCEPTION, STORE DATA STRUCTURE CORRUPTION is the latest. I tested using memtest86 all passed 4 test using 2x8gb ram 2666 ferquency at the same time. Used Hd tune to see if I have storage errors in hdd and ssd. I just recently Reset my windows 10 in hopes of getting rid of the BSOD but after downloading APEX LEGENDS and tried playing with it BSOD still occurs. I am at lost now on what could the issue be.

Before resetting I also updated my bios and updated windows 10 to ver 2004 in hope of fixing the issue but the issue still persists.

Here are 2 mini dumps for reference ( forgot to backup pas minidump before resetting windows ):

==================================================

Dump File : 070120-10968-01.dmp

Crash Time : 01/07/2020 8:06:48 pm

Bug Check String :

Bug Check Code : 0x000001c7

Parameter 1 : 00000000\00000000

Parameter 2 : ffffd407\
8c85e000

Parameter 3 : 00000000\cdab1308

Parameter 4 : 00000000\
001b873e

Caused By Driver : ntoskrnl.exe

Caused By Address : ntoskrnl.exe+3dda20

File Description : NT Kernel & System

Product Name : Microsoft® Windows® Operating System

Company : Microsoft Corporation

File Version : 10.0.19041.329 (WinBuild.160101.0800)

Processor : x64

Crash Address : ntoskrnl.exe+3dda20

Stack Address 1 :

Stack Address 2 :

Stack Address 3 :

Computer Name :

Full Path : C:\\Windows\\Minidump\\070120-10968-01.dmp

Processors Count : 8

Major Version : 15

Minor Version : 19041

Dump File Size : 2,396,318

Dump File Time : 01/07/2020 8:07:20 pm

==================================================

==================================================

Dump File : 070220-10812-01.dmp

Crash Time : 02/07/2020 8:03:38 pm

Bug Check String :

Bug Check Code : 0x000001c7

Parameter 1 : 00000000\00000000

Parameter 2 : ffffe303\
2b8ff000

Parameter 3 : 00000000\fb9b4427

Parameter 4 : 00000000\
0030eeff

Caused By Driver : ntoskrnl.exe

Caused By Address : ntoskrnl.exe+3dda20

File Description : NT Kernel & System

Product Name : Microsoft® Windows® Operating System

Company : Microsoft Corporation

File Version : 10.0.19041.329 (WinBuild.160101.0800)

Processor : x64

Crash Address : ntoskrnl.exe+3dda20

Stack Address 1 :

Stack Address 2 :

Stack Address 3 :

Computer Name :

Full Path : C:\\Windows\\Minidump\\070220-10812-01.dmp

Processors Count : 8

Major Version : 15

Minor Version : 19041

Dump File Size : 2,562,178

Dump File Time : 02/07/2020 8:04:08 pm

==================================================

much info on how to fix this is a great help thanks!
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Get a refund or get a matching set instead. If they can't replace your 2 sticks with a set that works, I would just use the faster one until you can get a set. its ideal to use 2 sticks (Or more) of ram that are sold as a set as they are pretty much guaranteed to work with each other. IT gets harder the more unmatching sticks you add. ITs hit and miss.
the latency of one stick in your laptop is 31ms, the other is 108ms.

It might not fix the problem but its the most obvious place to start. If you keep getting BSOD with only 1 stick installed, we keep looking. So don't rush out and do the ram just yet,
 
Reactions: Rikuoa

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
I tested using memtest86 all passed 4 test using 2x8gb ram 2666 ferquency at the same time.
just as well you got no errors as you would have had to run it 2 more times, with only 1 stick per time, to actually know which is problem. Always helps to do 1 per time.

Can you go to c:/windows/mindump
copy the files to another folder
upload the copies from new folder to a file sharing website and I get a friend to convert dumps for me.
 
Jul 5, 2020
8
2
15
0
just as well you got no errors as you would have had to run it 2 more times, with only 1 stick per time, to actually know which is problem. Always helps to do 1 per time.

Can you go to c:/windows/mindump
copy the files to another folder
upload the copies from new folder to a file sharing website and I get a friend to convert dumps for me.
Thanks for the advise. I would try to test it again tommorow after I return home and update you as soon as possible thanks!

Can it possibly be the ram? I only suspected it cause it is the only upgrade I requested before they deliver the product to me a month ago.
 
Jul 5, 2020
8
2
15
0
So I had another error playing Witcher 3. I had a glimpse of the error unexpected storage exception but failed to create a dump file as it didn't finish the BSOD and just went black screen but my backlit keyboard is still on. Had to hold power button to turn it off and on again.
 

gardenman

Admirable
Moderator
Hi, I ran the dump files through the debugger and got the following information: https://pastebin.com/spqz1CwM
File information:070220-10812-01.dmp (Jul 2 2020 - 08:03:38)
Bugcheck:STORE_DATA_STRUCTURE_CORRUPTION (1C7)
Probably caused by:ntkrnlmp.exe (Process: MemCompression)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 2 Hour(s), 57 Min(s), and 53 Sec(s)

File information:070120-10968-01.dmp (Jul 1 2020 - 08:06:48)
Bugcheck:STORE_DATA_STRUCTURE_CORRUPTION (1C7)
Probably caused by:ntkrnlmp.exe (Process: MemCompression)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 13 Hour(s), 34 Min(s), and 01 Sec(s)
Comment: 2 or more types of RAM are installed.
SizeSpeedManufacturerPart No.
8192MB2667MHzKingston9905700-026.A00G
8192MB2667MHzKingston99U5624-003.A00G
Did both of these RAM modules come pre-installed on the system?

Comment: The overclocking driver "IOCBios2.sys" was found on your system. (Intel Extreme Tuning Utility)

Possible system page: https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/predator-model/NH.Q5MAA.001
There is a BIOS update available for your system. Wait for additional information before deciding to update or not. Important: Verify that I have linked to the correct motherboard. Updating your BIOS can be risky. Never try it when you might lose power (lightning storms, recent power outages, etc).


This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 
Last edited:
Jul 5, 2020
8
2
15
0
Reactions: gardenman

gardenman

Admirable
Moderator
Sometimes XTU comes preinstalled with motherboard drivers. Colif will know more about it and will answer later. Overclocks and overclocking software can cause BSODs and I commented that the software was found. Might be no need to remove it yet.

You already have the latest BIOS, which is 1.11. I had the wrong system so ignore the BIOS message I posted above.

Sometimes mixing different types of RAM will cause BSODs. However they may be OK. We'll see as the thread goes. Wait for more replies.
 
Reactions: Rikuoa

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
maybe iocbios2.sys is part of Predator Sense. IT might not be problem here.

the Store mentioned in the error is part of virtual memory. That is ram mostly.

So if store replaced your ram, why didn't they use matching sticks?

They have similar speed but the latency is different between both sticks
https://www.memorybenchmark.net/ram.php?ram=Kingston+99U5624-003.A00G+8GB&id=13105
is better then
https://www.memorybenchmark.net/ram.php?ram=Kingston+9905700-026.A00G+8GB&id=13907

I would remove 2nd stick... did you pay for a matching set as you didn't get one.
 
Jul 5, 2020
8
2
15
0
That I didn't know. I just told them that I want to upgrade my ram to 16gb. Thanks! I would try to talk to the store about what you said and get a refund. So the fix would be to use 1 ram for now and when I opt for an upgrade it is better to use the same latency and speed of ram correct?
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Get a refund or get a matching set instead. If they can't replace your 2 sticks with a set that works, I would just use the faster one until you can get a set. its ideal to use 2 sticks (Or more) of ram that are sold as a set as they are pretty much guaranteed to work with each other. IT gets harder the more unmatching sticks you add. ITs hit and miss.
the latency of one stick in your laptop is 31ms, the other is 108ms.

It might not fix the problem but its the most obvious place to start. If you keep getting BSOD with only 1 stick installed, we keep looking. So don't rush out and do the ram just yet,
 
Reactions: Rikuoa
Jul 5, 2020
8
2
15
0
Got it. I would probably go to the shop first so I wont void my warranty since the sticker is right on top of the screw. Thanks! Would update on this as soon as possible.
 
Jul 5, 2020
8
2
15
0
So I returned my unit and they cleaned the ram slot and haven't had any BSOD since. I guess it was about the placement of ram. Thanks for all the help!
 
Reactions: gardenman

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS