[SOLVED] BSODS random times

Oct 2, 2022
13
2
15
0
Been dealing with some BSODs since I built this system about 7 months ago. I'm not sure what's causing it now. I've reseated everything, bought new RAM thinking that was the problem. Didn't see any BSODs for weeks then they reappeared. Reinstalled drivers, reinstalled windows. Only thing I have enabled is DOCP which even when disabled and setting placed manually, I still get pretty much the same BSOD messages. I've removed an old SSD that was giving me weird browser visuals in videos in fullscreen.

System Specs:
Win10 19044
5900x
Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Sapphire Nitro+ RX6900XT SE
32GB CMW32GX4M2Z3600C18

Kinda driving me crazy now not knowing what the heck is going on. Tempted to try another CPU, but I have none on me, would have to buy a new one which isn't too much of a big deal but would like to see if I could avoid that. I've enclosed a dropbox link to my .dmp file. Not sure if I've done it correctly, never tried this before. Any help is appreciated.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/vnnlokniqfz4369/100222-30500-01.dmp?dl=0
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,225
5,038
166,290
10,413
What PSU? what storage drives?

Conversion of dumps

report - Click run as fiddle to see report


File: 100222-30500-01.dmp (Oct 3 2022 - 10:00:13)
BugCheck: [PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)]
Probably caused by: memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime: 0 Day(s), 19 Hour(s), 34 Min(s), and 59 Sec(s)

nothing obvious, looks like a driver error. CPU tried to access parts of ram it didn't have permission to look in

I have seen these cause BSOD before
Nov 13 2018dtlitescsibus.sysDAEMON Tools Lite Virtual SCSI Bus (Disc Soft Ltd)
Nov 26 2018dtliteusbbus.sysDAEMON Tools Lite Virtual USB Bus (Disc Soft Ltd)

what Corsair have you got? possibly new version of Icue, yours is from 2020.
could be news version of Virtualbox, it keeps reminding me to update.
Are you running Afterburner? See an MSI app

update chipset drivers (don't need raid or stormi) - https://www.amd.com/en/support/chipsets/amd-socket-am4/x570
which audio do you use? Sound blaster or onboard? Not sure if there would be new drivers for Soundblaster

try running this and see if newer LAN/WIFI drivers - https://www.intel.com.au/content/www/au/en/support/intel-driver-support-assistant.html
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,225
5,038
166,290
10,413
What PSU? what storage drives?

Conversion of dumps

report - Click run as fiddle to see report


File: 100222-30500-01.dmp (Oct 3 2022 - 10:00:13)
BugCheck: [PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)]
Probably caused by: memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime: 0 Day(s), 19 Hour(s), 34 Min(s), and 59 Sec(s)

nothing obvious, looks like a driver error. CPU tried to access parts of ram it didn't have permission to look in

I have seen these cause BSOD before
Nov 13 2018dtlitescsibus.sysDAEMON Tools Lite Virtual SCSI Bus (Disc Soft Ltd)
Nov 26 2018dtliteusbbus.sysDAEMON Tools Lite Virtual USB Bus (Disc Soft Ltd)

what Corsair have you got? possibly new version of Icue, yours is from 2020.
could be news version of Virtualbox, it keeps reminding me to update.
Are you running Afterburner? See an MSI app

update chipset drivers (don't need raid or stormi) - https://www.amd.com/en/support/chipsets/amd-socket-am4/x570
which audio do you use? Sound blaster or onboard? Not sure if there would be new drivers for Soundblaster

try running this and see if newer LAN/WIFI drivers - https://www.intel.com.au/content/www/au/en/support/intel-driver-support-assistant.html
 
Oct 2, 2022
13
2
15
0
What PSU? what storage drives?
Thank you for the reply. I am using an EVGA Supernova G2 1000W and for storage I'm using Samsung SSD 980 Pro 1TB for boot drive and Sandisk Ultra 3D SSD 4TB. For audio I use the Soundblaster. The Corsair I have is the iCUE H170i Elite Capellix, the RAM mentioned, a Lighting Node Core and M65 Pro Mouse.

Updated the Chipset, wasn't aware that an update was available.
I have updated my iCUE software. It shows that all the products associated with it are updated.
I have updated Daemon Tools Lite software. I've located both in Device Manager but both still say they're back in 2018
The Intel site doesn't seem to want to work. Just says something went wrong while trying to scan. I've downloaded the product listed, but when I try to open it all it does is go to the system tray. It tells me there is 1 update available, but when I try and click it, it goes away without actually doing anything or saying what needs updating. I was able to update the Wi-fi driver, but the Lan refuses to update. It will say installed successfully, but when I look in Device Manager, it's still dated back in 2021. Have tried restarting a couple times, but stays the same.

Any more information I can grab for you?
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,225
5,038
166,290
10,413
intel tool isn't the best I guess, do you use Ethernet?
Just noticed I don't have latest Icue, always happens when i tell someone to update
Expect the capellix uses the same version I have, its hard to tell. I have a H100i RGB platinum and almost same ram as you do.
 
Oct 2, 2022
13
2
15
0
Yup, I use Ethernet. I actually don't even have the antennas attached to my board. Guess now we just play the waiting game for something to trip it up?
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,225
5,038
166,290
10,413
Dec 15 2021e1r68x64.sysIntel(R) Gigabit Adapter driver https://downloadcenter.intel.com/

Do you use Intel Ethernet or Realtek?
Realtek® RTL8125-CG 2.5G LAN
Intel® I211-AT

there is such a thing as too much choice.

here is the intel driver - https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/download/18293/intel-network-adapter-driver-for-windows-10.html
Here is the Realtek: Download Win10 Auto Installation Program (NDIS) from under windows header here - https://www.realtek.com/en/component/zoo/category/network-interface-controllers-10-100-1000m-gigabit-ethernet-pci-express-software
 
Oct 2, 2022
13
2
15
0
Dec 15 2021e1r68x64.sysIntel(R) Gigabit Adapter driver https://downloadcenter.intel.com/

Do you use Intel Ethernet or Realtek?
Realtek® RTL8125-CG 2.5G LAN
Intel® I211-AT

there is such a thing as too much choice.

here is the intel driver - https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/download/18293/intel-network-adapter-driver-for-windows-10.html
Here is the Realtek: Download Win10 Auto Installation Program (NDIS) from under windows header here - https://www.realtek.com/en/component/zoo/category/network-interface-controllers-10-100-1000m-gigabit-ethernet-pci-express-software
I use the Realtek port. I have updated this driver using the link you provided.
 
Oct 2, 2022
13
2
15
0
Haven't seen any obvious problems on my end since. Was able to get rid of the thing that kept saying I still had 1 driver that needed updating. Somehow the wi-fi driver had an extra update that I found on the ROG site.
 

Fatblabs

Prominent
Jun 29, 2021
286
12
695
1
Haven't seen any obvious problems on my end since. Was able to get rid of the thing that kept saying I still had 1 driver that needed updating. Somehow the wi-fi driver had an extra update that I found on the ROG site.
Which Was the solution? Updating The Audio drives, or updating chipset
 
Oct 2, 2022
13
2
15
0
Dec 15 2021e1r68x64.sysIntel(R) Gigabit Adapter driver https://downloadcenter.intel.com/

Do you use Intel Ethernet or Realtek?
Realtek® RTL8125-CG 2.5G LAN
Intel® I211-AT

there is such a thing as too much choice.

here is the intel driver - https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/download/18293/intel-network-adapter-driver-for-windows-10.html
Here is the Realtek: Download Win10 Auto Installation Program (NDIS) from under windows header here - https://www.realtek.com/en/component/zoo/category/network-interface-controllers-10-100-1000m-gigabit-ethernet-pci-express-software
Got 3 BSODs within an hour. Not sure why now. Can I get your help once again?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/yram50elt6tcwse/100722-31531-01.dmp?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/r24mij6yefsnevh/100722-34546-01.dmp?dl=0
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,225
5,038
166,290
10,413
Got 3 BSODs within an hour. Not sure why now. Can I get your help once again?
I can but weather might get in my way today.

Conversion of dumps

report - Click run as fiddle to see report

File: 100722-34546-01.dmp (Oct 8 2022 - 12:06:47)
BugCheck: [MEMORY_MANAGEMENT (1A)]
Probably caused by: memory_corruption (Process: brave.exe)
Uptime: 1 Day(s), 23 Hour(s), 09 Min(s), and 57 Sec(s)

File: 100722-31812-01.dmp (Oct 8 2022 - 13:03:56)
BugCheck: [PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)]
Probably caused by: memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime: 0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 06 Min(s), and 04 Sec(s)

File: 100722-31531-01.dmp (Oct 8 2022 - 12:46:29)
BugCheck: [PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)]
Probably caused by: memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime: 0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 39 Min(s), and 00 Sec(s)

Hmm, updating realtek drivers didn't change anything. Literally. Its the same driver as before, I believe you when you say you updated it.
All it means is Realtek updated the download package but not the driver. I wish they wouldn't do that.
I wonder if uninstalling it and reinstalling it again would fix it.

I don't have any proof it is the lan drivers, the dumps aren't being revealing.

crash 1 was all in virtual memory (windows allows programs to think they have way more memory than PC actually has by using a mix of ram & page file to trick it. Virtual memory is how it does it, the actual location of the files is on C drive or in ram.)
crash 2 & 3 happened after CPU tried to access memory it didn't have access to. Same as the 1st BSOD from last week.


try updating GPU drivers.

try running this overnight
Prime 95 - - https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/prime95-download.html
Prime 95 Instructions - https://appuals.com/how-to-run-a-cpu-stress-test-using-prime95/
it checks CPU, ram & power. Worth a look just to be sure. Misbehaving CPU/RAM can make good drivers look bad.
 
Oct 2, 2022
13
2
15
0
try updating GPU drivers.

try running this overnight
Prime 95 - - https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/prime95-download.html
Prime 95 Instructions - https://appuals.com/how-to-run-a-cpu-stress-test-using-prime95/
it checks CPU, ram & power. Worth a look just to be sure. Misbehaving CPU/RAM can make good drivers look bad.
I have reinstalled the Realtek Audio drivers.
I have updated to the 22.10.1 driver for AMD up from 22.5.1. Most of the other drivers up to now have come with some weird problems so I had to drop back to 22.5.1. I don't see the main problem from 22.9.1 which caused everything to turn pixelated green if I paused a video in full screen and also made weird specs pop up around some images in games. I ran Prime all night as suggested. Every test passed so far.
 
Oct 2, 2022
13
2
15
0
Prime 95 - - https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/prime95-download.html
Prime 95 Instructions - https://appuals.com/how-to-run-a-cpu-stress-test-using-prime95/
it checks CPU, ram & power. Worth a look just to be sure. Misbehaving CPU/RAM can make good drivers look bad.
Nevermind, I redid Prime95 again because I didn't think I did the test properly. Went with Blend and added all the RAM available and looks like everything stopped in an hour except workers 2, 5, 7 and 10. That uh, doesn't sound good.
 
Oct 2, 2022
13
2
15
0
go into the folder that Prime is installed in and find stress.txt
it should be the results. You can copy/paste it in here
The stess.txt doesn't really show anything in it other than some Q&A. There is a results.txt that shows the errors would you like that instead?
 
Oct 2, 2022
13
2
15
0
Clearly I got name wrong. Yes, that would be nice.
Wonder if any stopped from rounding.


Test 2


FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 1280K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.

[Sun Oct 9 01:34:36 2022]
FATAL ERROR: Final result was E634DD97, expected: 63514A8F.
Hardware failure detected running 10K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.

FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 12K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.
Self-test 1344K passed!
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.4999815185, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 12K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.

FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 12K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.
[Sun Oct 9 01:47:41 2022]

FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 1600K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.

[mod edit: removed non error lines]
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,225
5,038
166,290
10,413
I shrank your post... i was right...

So to fix rounding you have to add voltage to the RAM in BIOS, raise it 1 increment and run Prime again. Keep upping voltage until you stop getting rounding errors.
if it never stops, it could be need new ram.
if you stop errors here, it might stop BSOD as well.

No point giving me any dump results until rounding fixed and they still happen. I expect rounding is the cause of all of the bsod.
 
Last edited:

Fatblabs

Prominent
Jun 29, 2021
286
12
695
1
I shrank your post... i was right...

So to fix rounding you have to add voltage to the RAM in BIOS, raise it 1 increment and run Prime again. Keep upping voltage until you stop getting rounding errors.
if it never stops, it could be need new ram.
if you stop errors here, it might stop BSOD as well.

No point giving me any dump results until rounding fixed and they still happen. I expect rounding is the cause of all of the bsod.
I've ran mine. Is it also a ram prob?


result:

[Sat Oct 15 14:10:32 2022]
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.4996726014, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 360K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.4936140104, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 360K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.4991823364, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 360K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.4994510495, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 384K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.4990156004, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 384K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.


Passed:
Self-test 360K passed!
Self-test 360K passed!
Self-test 360K passed!
[Sat Oct 15 14:20:17 2022]
Self-test 4608 (thread 2 of 2) passed!
Self-test 4608 (thread 1 of 2) passed!
Self-test 4608 (thread 2 of 2) passed!
Self-test 4608 (thread 1 of 2) passed!
Self-test 4608 (thread 1 of 2) passed!
Self-test 4608 (thread 2 of 2) passed!
 
Last edited:

Fatblabs

Prominent
Jun 29, 2021
286
12
695
1
I shrank your post... i was right...

So to fix rounding you have to add voltage to the RAM in BIOS, raise it 1 increment and run Prime again. Keep upping voltage until you stop getting rounding errors.
if it never stops, it could be need new ram.
if you stop errors here, it might stop BSOD as well.

No point giving me any dump results until rounding fixed and they still happen. I expect rounding is the cause of all of the bsod.
could it have been a cpu undervolt?
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY