• Now's your chance win big! Join our community and get entered to win a RTX 2060 GPU, plus more! Join here.

    Pi Cast Episode 3 streams live on Tuesday, August 4th at 2:30 pm ET (7:30 PM BST). Watch live right here!

    Catch Scharon on the Tom's Hardware Show live on Thursday, August 6th at 2:00 pm ET (7:00 PM BST). Click here!

Question BSODs, Restarts after fresh Win 10 Installation

Page 3 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

gardenman

Admirable
Moderator
I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://mondialenglishspringerspaniel.htmlpasta.com/

File information:053120-36734-01.dmp (May 30 2020 - 14:53:02)
Bugcheck:WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124)
Probably caused by:AuthenticAMD (Process: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 08 Min(s), and 46 Sec(s)

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

divJ

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2012
716
0
18,980
0
I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://mondialenglishspringerspaniel.htmlpasta.com/

File information:053120-36734-01.dmp (May 30 2020 - 14:53:02)
Bugcheck:WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124)
Probably caused by:AuthenticAMD (Process: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 08 Min(s), and 46 Sec(s)

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
Hey, is there anyway to check whether my external HDD has bad sectors or has any other problem without logging into windows ? Like how memtest86 works ?
 

divJ

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2012
716
0
18,980
0
I ran HD Tune for error checks in the Ext HDD and the PC crashed again. It has to be the external HDD or some HDD driver.

Ran chkdsk - no errors
 

zakitc

Honorable
Oct 13, 2014
56
5
10,545
1
When you where reinstalling windows, did you completely deleted ALL partions on your hard drive?
I would reinstall windows from scratch again - and let it find missing drivers itself - not using ones from Asus. And using Asus ones only for the ones missing if any. Then I would check hard drive for errors right after installation, even if it says it's unecesary - I have had situations where w10 declared hdd as good, but when checked on different software found errors. I don't trust it anymore since then....that's what I would do..
And then remove/replace CMOS battery....
 

divJ

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2012
716
0
18,980
0
When you where reinstalling windows, did you completely deleted ALL partions on your hard drive?
I would reinstall windows from scratch again - and let it find missing drivers itself - not using ones from Asus. And using Asus ones only for the ones missing if any. Then I would check hard drive for errors right after installation, even if it says it's unecesary - I have had situations where w10 declared hdd as good, but when checked on different software found errors. I don't trust it anymore since then....that's what I would do..
And then remove/replace CMOS battery....
Yeah, completely wiped the partitions.
 

zakitc

Honorable
Oct 13, 2014
56
5
10,545
1
If you can do it - install back win8.1 and check if problem still exists.....also - I vaguely remember that on some machines in BIOS there was an option when Bios was tied particularly to win8 or something - can you check in BIOS if you have anything like that...
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Hey I do have a recovery drive available for my previous installation of windows. Can i find out whether I was running IDE or AHCI without installing the recovery ?
from elsewhere... glad to see going back to ide fixed it... I don't know if there is anyway to tell if the recovery drive is set up in one way or another. I could guess it was IDE before as if you never changed anything in BIOS, it can't have changed.

as for swapping, I found this last night at same time as you reported it was broken
  1. Yes there is a way on WIN 10 also ! Go into BIOS set the SATA mode to IDE and boot into system.
  2. Start REGEDIT and look for this line :
  3. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\storahci\StartOverride
  4. Change the 0 DWORD value from 3 to 0.
  5. Reboot, and change your SATA controller to AHCI in BIOS. Now let it boot into safe mode, WIN 10 will install required drivers for AHCI.
  6. Now with a normal boot you will boot into Windows with AHCI drivers.
Note : OEMs suggest reinstalling rather than changing, especially with an SSD.

You stand the chance of loosing your install if something goes wrong, and different systems may behave differently.
https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/switch-from-ide-to-ahci-windows-10.2429812/
but looking at that you will need to set PC up to go into safe mode before step 2 I would think so i would use the steps in previous fix to set PC up for booting into safe mode

Setting up
  1. Click the Start Button and type cmd
  2. Right-click the result and select Run as administrator
  3. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /set {current} safeboot minimal (ALT: bcdedit /set safeboot minimal)
removing safe mode
  1. Right-click the Windows Start Menu once more. Choose Command Prompt (Admin).
  2. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /deletevalue {current} safeboot (ALT: bcdedit /deletevalue safeboot)
  3. Reboot once more and Windows will automatically start with AHCI drivers enabled.
So I would set up safe mode before running regedit (and before doing anything in here, back it up - https://neosmart.net/wiki/backup-restore-registry/ ) so that you don't forget as step 5 won't work otherwise

I don't suppose you have another PC you can attach external drive to and run the HD Tune scans? You could also try HD Sentinel trial - https://www.hdsentinel.com/hard_disk_sentinel_trial.php

the external drive is a WD - https://support.wdc.com/downloads.aspx?p=3
 

divJ

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2012
716
0
18,980
0
from elsewhere... glad to see going back to ide fixed it... I don't know if there is anyway to tell if the recovery drive is set up in one way or another. I could guess it was IDE before as if you never changed anything in BIOS, it can't have changed.

as for swapping, I found this last night at same time as you reported it was broken

https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/switch-from-ide-to-ahci-windows-10.2429812/
but looking at that you will need to set PC up to go into safe mode before step 2 I would think so i would use the steps in previous fix to set PC up for booting into safe mode

Setting up
  1. Click the Start Button and type cmd
  2. Right-click the result and select Run as administrator
  3. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /set {current} safeboot minimal (ALT: bcdedit /set safeboot minimal)
removing safe mode
  1. Right-click the Windows Start Menu once more. Choose Command Prompt (Admin).
  2. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /deletevalue {current} safeboot (ALT: bcdedit /deletevalue safeboot)
  3. Reboot once more and Windows will automatically start with AHCI drivers enabled.
So I would set up safe mode before running regedit (and before doing anything in here, back it up - https://neosmart.net/wiki/backup-restore-registry/ ) so that you don't forget as step 5 won't work otherwise

I don't suppose you have another PC you can attach external drive to and run the HD Tune scans? You could also try HD Sentinel trial - https://www.hdsentinel.com/hard_disk_sentinel_trial.php

the external drive is a WD - https://support.wdc.com/downloads.aspx?p=3
I am just thinking, if the problem is in a hdd driver, wouldn't transferring files between the 2 HDDs I have, lead to a crash as well ? Is there any program that could simulate that ? What do you think ?
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Don't WD external hdd have software they run on? I haven't had one in a few years as mine always died (probably my fault). I guess only one I see here is for Macintosh computers - https://support.wdc.com/downloads.aspx?p=171

I am not sure its a driver, it could be the drive. If you only get the WHEA errors when transferring from 1 drive, it seems to be a hint.
WHEA errors can be ANY hardware attached to PC. That is sort of why I suggested another PC when testing drive as if you get errors on other PC as well, it can't be your PC. If its the external drive, it runs over USB and all those drivers built into win 10.

I mean, it could be the 2012 AMD sata driver that might not be running at all if you were in AHCI mode.
Dec 04 2012amdide64.sysAMD SATA Controller driver
 

divJ

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2012
716
0
18,980
0
Don't WD external hdd have software they run on? I haven't had one in a few years as mine always died (probably my fault). I guess only one I see here is for Macintosh computers - https://support.wdc.com/downloads.aspx?p=171

I am not sure its a driver, it could be the drive. If you only get the WHEA errors when transferring from 1 drive, it seems to be a hint.
WHEA errors can be ANY hardware attached to PC. That is sort of why I suggested another PC when testing drive as if you get errors on other PC as well, it can't be your PC. If its the external drive, it runs over USB and all those drivers built into win 10.

I mean, it could be the 2012 AMD sata driver that might not be running at all if you were in AHCI mode.
Dec 04 2012amdide64.sysAMD SATA Controller driver
Could it be the usb driver ? I'll try getting my hands on another pc. Would a laptop be okay ?
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
yes, laptop is fine.

If it was USB, wouldn't you think other USB devices like your mouse/kb wouldn't also have problems? check out hdd and see if it is okay.

WHEA errors are rarely drivers, but in the few cases I have seen it can be hdd drivers. The most common drivers that cause these are overclocking drivers, none of which you have.
 

divJ

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2012
716
0
18,980
0
yes, laptop is fine.

If it was USB, wouldn't you think other USB devices like your mouse/kb wouldn't also have problems? check out hdd and see if it is okay.

WHEA errors are rarely drivers, but in the few cases I have seen it can be hdd drivers. The most common drivers that cause these are overclocking drivers, none of which you have.
Checked the external hdd on a laptop with HD Tune, no issues. Ran HD Tune on the internal HDDs too. No problems.

I also transferred some data from E to D and a bsod occurred. But when I transferred data from D to E, no bsod.

And when I transfer data from Ext to Int ( Any drive ) it crashes.

This has to be a driver issue. Are there any drivers I should install or overwrite the current ones ?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/hp2cx61xe3nvho8/3.rar?dl=0
 
Last edited:

divJ

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2012
716
0
18,980
0
If you can do it - install back win8.1 and check if problem still exists.....also - I vaguely remember that on some machines in BIOS there was an option when Bios was tied particularly to win8 or something - can you check in BIOS if you have anything like that...
My Mobo is from 2011, when Win 8 didn't exist.
 

gardenman

Admirable
Moderator
I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://lacunarexamination.htmlpasta.com/

File information:053120-24562-01.dmp (May 31 2020 - 09:48:53)
Bugcheck:IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: explorer.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 09 Min(s), and 13 Sec(s)

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Setting up Safemode
  1. Click the Start Button and type cmd
  2. Right-click the result and select Run as administrator
  3. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /set {current} safeboot minimal (ALT: bcdedit /set safeboot minimal)
Start REGEDIT
before doing anything in here, back it up - https://neosmart.net/wiki/backup-restore-registry/ )
look for this line :
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\storahci\StartOverride
Change the 0 DWORD value from 3 to 0.

Reboot, and change your SATA controller to AHCI in BIOS. Now let it boot into safe mode, WIN 10 will install required drivers for AHCI.

removing safe mode
  1. Right-click the Windows Start Menu once more. Choose Command Prompt (Admin).
  2. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /deletevalue {current} safeboot (ALT: bcdedit /deletevalue safeboot)
  3. Reboot once more and Windows will automatically start with AHCI drivers enabled.
 

divJ

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2012
716
0
18,980
0
Setting up Safemode
  1. Click the Start Button and type cmd
  2. Right-click the result and select Run as administrator
  3. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /set {current} safeboot minimal (ALT: bcdedit /set safeboot minimal)
Start REGEDIT
before doing anything in here, back it up - https://neosmart.net/wiki/backup-restore-registry/ )
look for this line :
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\storahci\StartOverride
Change the 0 DWORD value from 3 to 0.

Reboot, and change your SATA controller to AHCI in BIOS. Now let it boot into safe mode, WIN 10 will install required drivers for AHCI.

removing safe mode
  1. Right-click the Windows Start Menu once more. Choose Command Prompt (Admin).
  2. Type this command and press ENTER: bcdedit /deletevalue {current} safeboot (ALT: bcdedit /deletevalue safeboot)
  3. Reboot once more and Windows will automatically start with AHCI drivers enabled.
Whats the downside risk ?

I mean what could go wrong ?
 

gardenman

Admirable
Moderator
I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://onymoustapir.htmlpasta.com/

File information:060120-34906-01.dmp (May 31 2020 - 19:17:52)
Bugcheck:WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124)
Probably caused by:AuthenticAMD (Process: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 06 Min(s), and 19 Sec(s)

File information:060120-29968-01.dmp (May 31 2020 - 19:48:52)
Bugcheck:PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: csrss.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 29 Min(s), and 13 Sec(s)

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Whats the downside risk ?

I mean what could go wrong ?
well, it could just not work but if you backup the registry before changing that setting, you can always reverse it again.

did you disable that other driver before you got either of those errors? Don't swap to AHCI unless you tried PC without that IDE driver to see if it helps.
 

divJ

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2012
716
0
18,980
0
"well, it could just not work but if you backup the registry before changing that setting, you can always reverse it again."

amdide64.sys are you talking about this driver ?

"Don't swap to AHCI unless you tried PC without that IDE driver to see if it helps." Dont know what you mean.

Autoruns cant find amdide. /???
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
"well, it could just not work but if you backup the registry before changing that setting, you can always reverse it again."

amdide64.sys are you talking about this driver ?

"Don't swap to AHCI unless you tried PC without that IDE driver to see if it helps." Dont know what you mean.

Autoruns cant find amdide. /???
Yes, I was talking about that driver, I wasn't aware you couldn't stop it via that.
I am just guessing its that driver, its the only one that mentions sata

You could try running driver verifer, just follow the tips before hand as it can end in a boot loop (its part of windows, why can't they make a driving testing tool that can't also break windows?) - see 2nd post in this thread - https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/handy-details-to-include-in-blue-screen-of-death-posts.3468965/

If the errors are right and its a win 8 driver everytime, it should find it.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS