Build a Gaming PC now or wait for "Fermi" and 6-Core-CPUs?

TheAnyKey

Distinguished
Nov 22, 2009
I am a student and don't have much money, so I really want to buy one PC and keep it for at least 3-4 years.

I have read great things about this "revolutionary" new "Fermi" GPU from nVidia and the upcoming 6-Core-CPUs.

That made me really doubtful whether I should build a PC with the hardware currently available(maybe an i7 920 or Phenom II 965 BE and a HD 5870) or wait for the Fermi and the 6-Cores.

I am really unsure. What do you think, should I wait for the new hardware or is the current hardware sufficient? The release dates I've found: Fermi-Cards: March 26, 2010; 6-Core-CPUs: "before the end of Q2 this year".

I read the best Fermi-Card, the GTX 480, will cost $680, that is about as much as the hd 5970 costs now.

So what would be your advise, If I want a Gaming PC that lasts as long as possible? From what you've heard, will the new hardware really be that much better and render all the current hardware obsolete, at least for gaming purposes?

Thank you. :bounce:

TheAnyKey

Distinguished
Nov 22, 2009
Problem with going with a gulftown or Thuban is this. No games utilize more then 4 cores. Will crysis utilize 6 cores? Maybe...

6 cores are pretty useless in games and should only really bought if you do video editing and other processor intensive things.

A X4 955/5870 would be an awesome setup as well as a 750/5870. All depends how much you wanna spend.
Maybe at least the prices for the current stuff will drop then. Do you know what the 6-Cores will cost, are there prices out yet?

TheAnyKey

Distinguished
Nov 22, 2009

What about the Fermi GPU? Is it really a complety new kind of video cards, which makes todays models just obsolete?

bitsmt

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2010
Working with technology for over 20 years has tought me one thing - it will always keep changing (usually for the better).