Build based on upcoming RX480

phife

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2011
Hello good people,

after 10 years, i think it's a good time to upgrade. Wanted to do it last year, but i am actually happy i didn't. But that's another story. I'lly miss my Q6600 and 550TI, but i want to taste the good life now.

So i've done quite some reasearch on my own, but i just don't have the time to delve deep into the matrix, even though i really enjoy nerding out.

I work as a freelance graphic designer and photographer, but i love gaming as well. So that's the goal. I'd like to go to a 2560x1440 monitor (27") and at least 99% Adobe RGB coverage. I'll buy that some time later as i havent decided yet. I currently have 2 FHD 100% sRGB displays. (Only use one for gaming)

So here's a partial part picker list: http://pcpartpicker.com/list/hmGz8d (442$)

I've added what i knew i'd need, but it's up for discussion of course.

CPU: Waiting till October for the ZEN CPUs is one thing i considered, but i don't think it'll make much of a difference perfomance and cost wise. The Quad Core version would've been, but they'll likely ship 2017, and that's too far away.

Mobo: No i idea here. Looks i don't care too much about. Low profile preferable. mATX a must. I'd like it to be able to support OC well (not uber like the Maximus V3), have USB 3.1 support, CF (for the future) and Thunderbolt. Didn't want to pay more than 90$ for it.

GPU: I will -with high probability- take the new RX480. Cost and perfomance wise it sounds very promising. For my needs it's totally enough. Especially if OC'd. A 1070 or 1080 is either too expensive or in comparison with a RX480 just not good enough perf/dollar. Calculated 290$

Cooler:
Water Cooled is my preference, as i do like quiet systems, that can be OC'd quite a bit.

Ram: Picked one that's cheaper than most, while having good reviews.