Question Build for Professional (Game Development) use + Gaming

Sep 29, 2024
Hello everyone,

I'm pretty much new to building computers, even though I develop software for a living I don't know much about hardware.
I put together one of the worst possible builds through PCPartPicker, I'm here seeking for advice from more experienced builders.

If you can detail the reason behind each part's improvement, I'd be very grateful, as I'm trying to learn.
Thanks in advance to whoever will contribute!

Capture.png

turtletarget111

Honorable
Dec 24, 2018
Let's start at the beginning. Some changes can be made depending on how much you're willing to spend and how tight your budget is.

I understand the 12700KF is cheaper than the 12700K, as it does not have integrated graphics. However, despite you selecting a dedicated video card, I would personally forgo the KF variant. Aside from being able to utilize the onboard graphics (saving some resources for your video card to do more important work), it is also nice to have for troubleshooting purposes. The extra 15 dollars you are spending to get onboard graphics will come in handy down the road. Swap to the 12700K.

The cooler you selected is adequate and the paste is industry leading. If you are looking to save a few bucks, however, the couple degree difference you may see when using Kryonaut will not be measureable when looking at real world performance. I personally like buying nicer paste for my systems, but, realistically, you would be just fine going with the stock paste your cooler comes with. Just some food for thought.