Build for Video Editing Premiere CS6 on a Budget

soloalpinist

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2012
Hello All:
I'm looking for input as I have not built before.
I'm a Pro Photographer, but keep getting requests for Video shoots/editing.

What I have: Windows 7 , keyboard, mouse, wacom tablet
(2) WD 3TB USB 3.0 Externall HDs
(2) Dell 2410 1920x1200 Monitors
Adobe Master Suite CS6

I don't do any gaming

Here are my needs:
Build Timeline: within 1 month
Working in Adobe Master Suite CS6 (Premiere Pro, After Effects, Encore ,Photoshop)
Editing ACVHD Video (short videos now but anticipate longer produtions)
GPU compatible with Mercury Playback Engine
I'd like an system that can handle my current needs but that I can expand as needed.
Budget: Close to $1000 as possible

cball1311

Honorable
Dec 15, 2012
If you are not gaming, them AMD is the budget build of choice with the FX-8350. It is great for rendering, photoshopping, ad video editing. I noticed that you have external HDDs but you will need an internal to hold some data. I added an SSD because you will enjoy the performance of R/W speeds over traditional HDDs. 16GB RAM is a must and workstation graphics cards are better for video/photo editing. CS6 supports OpenGL so DirectX cards would be out of the picture. Here is what I suggest. You will definitely want a motherboard (USB 3.0 header for case) and case that support USB 3.0 for your external HDDs.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz 8-Core Processor ($189.99 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: ASRock 970 EXTREME4 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($106.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Memory: G.Skill Ares Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($79.98 @ Outlet PC)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 500GB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($57.99 @ NCIX US)
Storage: Samsung 830 Series 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($112.98 @ Newegg)
Video Card: ATI FirePro V5800 1GB Video Card ($356.99 @ SuperBiiz)