Building a Gaming Computer (for a maximum of $600) [for a beginner]

ashim8813

Honorable
Aug 3, 2012
Hi, I wanted to make a custom built computer as I heard it's firstly greater value for money and gives the user (me) much more control. I am new to this, I have only read a thread of two on other people doing the same, and my knowledge of parts is not exactly exhaustive (though I do know what the processor, motherboard, RAM, etc. is, I am not aware of any particular models that are good).

Purpose of the computer: Gaming (I intend to be at least able to run StarCraft II on its highest settings, League of Legends should be a breeze on its highest settings, and overall, I shouldn't have any difficulty having to run new, intensive games (BF3, AC, Dota 2, etc.) on their highest, or maybe just a notch below their highest.

I would prefer 8GB of RAM and an intel processor, although I would not mind any AMD suggestions.

My only other real constraint really is that the budget is $600, I really cannot go above that :\

Thanks in advance!

P.S. I may take a day to respond to suggestions, so please bear with me :)

Oh, and it would be a massive bonus if the build accommodated for upgrades in the future, should I choose to do it

Solution
some slight tweaks to the motherboard (the ASRock H77M), and a 500 GB drive for the same price as the 250 you had, I fit in a GTX 560

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-2400 3.1GHz Quad-Core Processor ($184.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: ASRock H77M Micro ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Value Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1333 Memory ($39.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Western Digital RE2 500GB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($53.78 @ Compuvest)
Video Card: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 1GB Video Card ($154.09 @ Amazon)
Case: Cooler Master Elite 430 ATX Mid...

Youngmind

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2011