Building a Music AMD PC

G

I'm finally going to do it. I've been waiting and now that the Abit KG7 is out, I'm going to build my PC.

I'm building a PC to make MUSIC. Any recommendations? Does anyone know of sites to check for compatiblity between the different parts of the PC?

Here is what I'll look into getting right now:

AMD 1200 ( does it matter if its a type 'C' or 'A' ),
Abit KG7 ( yes, they're finally out ),
256 or 512 DDR ram,
DVD - I'm not sure which one,
CDRW - dito
My soundcard will be a Creamware Luna 2 (most likely),
I don't know what Graphics card to get

I heard that Pentium 3's are better for audio and AMD is better for having lots of plug-ins. I will use my computer to record audio and run sofsynths. I think I might still have to go with AMD if this is true, unless the Pentium is a must.

I've never built a PC before, so if you have any suggestions (even ones that might be obvious) I'd like to hear them.

killall

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
its better for you to get a C athlon... faster fsb... and PC2100 ddr... not PC1600 as that will only go with the older and/or slower fsb amds and will limit upgradeability... when building my first pc i found few problems... just take precautions like getting a anti static wrist band (dirt cheap) and working on a wooden surface if possible keeping your hands dry... being the obvious... the annoying things were the power reset switch/led connectors... really annoyed me but that depends on motherboard and case... also have you considered which hard drive you will be getting... youll need a fair bit of space for audio... id presonally go for a couple of ibm's in raid if possible...

if in doubt blame microsoft...

G