Building a new rig, Guidance for GPU choice

Status
Not open for further replies.

ekkstra

Distinguished
Nov 2, 2011
Hi guys,

I need help on picking a GPU for my taste and price range. I don't have a full rig yet but I want an idea of what card I would like to have.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: This week. Hours even. BUDGET RANGE: Under $300.

USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: 1.Gaming (Battlefield 3, Skyrim, Metro 2033, Crysis at full settings then any other game would be good). 2.Watching movies in HD. 3.Surfing the internet. 4.Music.

CURRENT GPU AND POWER SUPPLY: I don't have any yet, as this is my first build and just wanting to know what kind of GPU i should get.

OTHER RELEVANT SYSTEM SPECS: Again I don't have any of the other parts as this is probably going to be my first part. If you guys want you can give advice on what Mobo, ram, CPU i should get but that's up to you.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg mostly, amazon.

PARTS PREFERENCES: I prefer nVidia cards mostly.

OVERCLOCKING: I don't know how to OC so probably not. SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Eventually but as of now no.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1680x1050 is mostly likely my monitor size.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: As i said I really don't have any other parts as this is a new build and might be hard to give me advice for lack of information. If you insist in recommending parts other than the GPU then I will appreciate it, if not then GPU is fine.

Solution
Ya, ya. No compatibility issues. Everything's pretty standard here.
EVGA would be a safe bet, and cheaper than many other options too. This is probably the best-performing card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127582