Building a new system , HELP!...

G

I am looking to build a new system with an AMD Duron proccesor of some varity hopefully of which I will be able to overclock with little effort, so I would like a motherboard to fit this. I am also looking for a high quality graphics card and sound card aswell as a fairly large hard drive and alot of ram...ect... I have seen Toms HowTo guide but was looking for a slightly better system.
my budget is around $1800

note: I will also need a monitor and speakers

*I am fairly new at this hardware stuff so any helpful urls on building PC's or advise would be greatly apriciated

Thanks.

AmdMELTDOWN

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
$1800, hmmm....why go for a duron? when you can get a t-bird.

If this was my prefered platform I would get a thunderbird.

Btw w/$1800 you can have a nice stable dual p3 system aka "Dream System".

You have a little bit more cash on hand than most of the thg audience combined!

RavenPrime

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Now is not necessarily the best time to buy or build as new technologies are just comming or just about to come out.

Here are a couple of places to check prices:
<A HREF="http://www.buy.com" target="_new">http://www.buy.com</A>
<A HREF="http://www.ibuyer.net" target="_new">http://www.ibuyer.net</A>
<A HREF="http://www.computershopper.com" target="_new">http://www.computershopper.com</A>
<A HREF="http://www.pricewatch.com" target="_new">http://www.pricewatch.com</A>

I like the a-top case <A HREF="http://www.a-top.com/main.html" target="_new">http://www.a-top.com/main.html</A> but be warned that they come with loud fans in the power supply. I had to replace my power supply fan. It would be nice if you could get the case without the powersupply. Enlight also makes excellent cases. Get a 300W power supply.