Building a system for a buddy, pure aesthetics.

TraceDaBoss

Honorable
Jun 18, 2013
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/DvYGD3
That is the current build I have picked out so far. He wants a black and red theme and was very specific about the fact that the build had to look perfect. He gave me a budget of 2k, and this is what I could put together. I am going to wait till broadwell comes out, but I just put the cpu+mobo as a substitute for now. He likes how the MSI mobo looks, and I can't disagree. I've heard about their poor QC, but he says it's worth it. I was thinking about doing a custom water loop, but I am not very experienced on that and I'm not completely sure if it is worth it. Any opinions/revisions/constructive criticism is greatly appreciated. Thanks! -T

0x1eef

Reputable
Jan 16, 2015

Well, I'm not familiar with all the cooling systems. You're probably right. But not any cooler will hold 4790k at good temps, so I suggested the best option I'm aware of.

There are many coolers the same and many better than the Pro 3. The Phanteks tc14 comes in black and in red and beats the Pro 3.

Coolermaster V8 GTS is another good option for some black+red cooling.

RAIJINTEK TISIS BLACK is also a cooler that will best the Pro 3 and fits the scheme

I'm not trying to say the Pro 3 is bad. It is actually quite good. Just stating there are TONS of other options.

Woody1999

Admirable
You could try building your own air cooler, using a decent heatsink with some black and red fans in push/pull, but you'd have to find a good black heatsink.

The Swiftech H240X is a fantastic AIO cooler that has interchangeable parts, so you can change the looks of it, or even integrate a GPU water block. I'd personally recommend that over any cooler on the market. If it's just for gaming, I recommend something a bit like this:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2zpT99

Thrown in some of the best peripherals on the market as well, all a gamer needs.