Building my pc, asking for suggestions.

apmal

Prominent
Sep 30, 2017
As I was previously informed about my rig not being capable of upgrading effectively, I decided to build my own pc, however I am not really an expert so I would like for opinions/suggestions.

The parts I chose and hopefuly are compactible:
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2400G 3,6GHz
Motherboard:MSI B450 TOMAHAWK ATX AM4
GPU:Gigabyte - GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB (found single and dual fan ones, not sure what is the difference)
RAM: 2x4Gb Kingston HyperX DDR4-2666
As for Storage I would stick to my old one:
Storage: Western Digital WDC WD10EZEX 1TB

Which I am not certain about are the Case and Power supply, I don't know the type of my Case nor my (Akyga) Power supply.

So in conclusion I would like to ask if the parts are compactible and if yes, which case/power supply would fit/work with it. Thank you in advance!

asoroka

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2009
What is going to be your main usage requirement?

If you are going for a discrete GPU then don't bother with a G series CPU chip, you dont need the onboard graphics.
Instead go for the R52600.

The single fan version will have to spin faster to provide the same cooling, so may be louder.

8GB RAM will not be enough, go for at least 2x8.

You can keep your old HDD as a backup, but get a 500GB SSD for your main storage.

I agree about the Ryzen 2600. If you are getting a dedicated card and are not going to be using the 2400G's integrated graphics anyway, you might as well go for a processor with 50% more cores and threads at about the same cost, as that will likely help performance in future games.