Building on a budget

holcombsean33

Prominent
Nov 13, 2017
First time computer build! Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Components are all coming in the mail with the next few days. Let me know if there’s anything else I need to list as I’m new to this.

Component List

-Asus M3n78-vm motherboard
-Amd phenom II x4 955 3.2 ghz cpu
-Corsair cx750 750watt 80 bronze certified psu
-Corsair dominator 4gb (2x2gb) pc2 8500 1066mhz ddr2 (should I get 2 more sticks?)
-wd 1tb 7200 rpm 32mb cache 3.5 internal hdd
-wd 250gb 7200rpm 64mb cache 3.5 SATA hard drive
-Tp link tg-3269 10/100/1000mbps network card
-dell amd Radeon hd 6450 1gb high profile 3173k video card
-gpu chipset GeForce 8200 (can I use this with the Hybrid SLI?)
-creative labs sb0570 sound blaster audigy 7.1 channel hd pci sound card
-noctua nh-d15 cpu cooler

What do I have wrong, what am I missing, and any advice for rookie?

Solution

We don't know what your budget is or where you can shop. US, Europe, UK, etc.
The 450W would be adequate for the HD 6450, but not for the R9-270X. That requires a 500W or better. And not allPSUs are created equal.
Depending on how much you are spending on the gfx card, you may do better with a more modern card. Like the GTX 1050 Ti. It is generally around $160 (US) and a bit faster than the R9-270X. It can run on the 450W PSU.[/quotemsg]

I’m in the US. I’m closing in on getting the r9-270x for about $60 right now. Budget is no more than another $200, is I’m already in for $200 so far. Should I just try to get a more modern motherboard that is compatible with my current components? Are possibly compatible with ddr3 ram as I have...

clutchc

Titan
Ambassador
Old equipment, huh? But if you aren't planning on gaming with the build, it should be OK for web-surfing and general usage. The HD-6450 is a 720p card for gaming at best using low-mid settings.
Yes, more RAM!
Unless the board is used and has a defective LAN chip, you won't need the separate LAN card.