Buy 6970CFX/ 6990 OR wait for new 7000 series or 600 series?

Status
Not open for further replies.

spagalicious

Distinguished
Hey this is my first build and I have my computer built as of now. I really want to get gaming soon but I'm not sure if I should wait for the next gen in GPUs or just buy now. Im looking to spend around $750 on a graphic card(s). Is there going to be that much of a performance boost in Kepler or the next ATI offering? I don't want to have to wait very long to buy but I may be willing to wait a tad longer if the date is in the near future.

Specs for Ref.
i7 2600k@4.6ghz
AsRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3
hecXP 800w PSU
16GB Corsair 1600
Asus 550ti 1GB (for the time being...)

Also, if you don't think this is the best option for 1080p, what else would be good for the money and the least noise. I don't like jet engines but maybe vacuum I can handle. :bounce:

Solution
well when you're done with it you can send that old 550 to me ;-)

I actually just asked the same question on the forums and what I've gathered is that the HD 79xx cards will be much more powerful. Whereas anything below that will only be a slight increase from it's respective replacement. This being due to the 79xx using a new instruction set (NGC), new XDR2 memory, and it'll be on a 28nm process. However both the ATI and NVidia high end cards aren't supposed to be out till Q2 next year :-/

papaswedine

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2011
well when you're done with it you can send that old 550 to me ;-)

I actually just asked the same question on the forums and what I've gathered is that the HD 79xx cards will be much more powerful. Whereas anything below that will only be a slight increase from it's respective replacement. This being due to the 79xx using a new instruction set (NGC), new XDR2 memory, and it'll be on a 28nm process. However both the ATI and NVidia high end cards aren't supposed to be out till Q2 next year :-/

Solution