Question Buying a Domain for the first time ?

johnyb98

Distinguished
Apr 3, 2015
Hello everyone.
Please, I would like your help on the following issue.
I am on the way to buy a domain, and then create a mail address (or maybe more) on the domain.

So, my first query is: I see that buying domains prices are very low. But, because it is my first time domain buying, is it only for the first year, and when renewing the price goes up?

Also, I am interested only on mail addresses building. No web site. Are there registrars that with domain buying give 1 mail address as a gift and others not?

And finally, it's about SPF, DKIM and DMARC txt records. Do I have to learn setting them up, or these records have to do with ESPs (Email Service Providers), and I will not have to set up anything on the DNS nameserver DNS records?

Thank you in advance!

Ralston18

Titan
Yes. I would expect prices to go up. That is built into most contracts and agreements even if prices are not driven up by inflation and/or demand.

What the registrars provide, both initially and later on, is subject to the contracts you sign. Costs may be increased at any time depending on any number of factors.

How many email addresses are created, stored, distributed etc....

Could be scaled:

1,000 addresesses might cost you X amount. 1,001 addresses could cost 2 times X amount. Or some scheme that rapidly increases how much you have to pay per email address.

You must pay very close attention to the details of the domain name purchase. The fine print often allows just about anything to happen - likely not in your favor.

Not sure about what you are really planning to do so cannot directly comment regarding having "to learn setting them up".

However, I do know that that is something you must be sure about before committing to any contracts, purchases, etc..

FYI:

https://www.forbes.com/advisor/business/how-register-domain-name/