C++ for windows 8 error at boot

Sketch49

Honorable
Feb 1, 2013
Im not a programmer, do i need c++? I upgraded to 8 from win 7 where the same error was displayed, why didnt it fix, during install?
32 bit ...
thanks

Sketch49

Honorable
Feb 1, 2013

Thanks for a reply, sorry i wasnt clear.

In the old 7 ultimate, I began to get C++ errors, who knows why? it still ran ok.

Just for the heck of it, I went for the $39. upgrade to Win 8.

Shortly after booting, I get a box which says C:\pro, terminated in unusual way" C++, contact application admin...(as u may guess no answer forthcoming.)

Since its used mainly by programmers (I am not) and I also dont use visual c, do I need it ?
I CAN NOT FIND C:\PRO, anywhere.
thanks u for your kind aid. I hope this helps

The Stealthinator

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2012
As you did an upgrade to Win8, some programs and drivers aren't backward compatible. They'll need to be reinstalled. Try doing that and see if that helps.

Yes those C++ applications you see are required by other programs so leave them there.

Try installing the Microsoft Visual C Runtimes from 2005/2008/2010/2012

Start here for 2005 x86 ..

http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=3387

Then use the links under "What Other People Are Downloading" for all the other versions. Don't forget that an x64 machine will need both types and do them in year order, example 2005 x86 -> 2005 x64 -> 2008 x86 ......

Once all installed, W8 should update them with any security updates.

Sketch49

Honorable
Feb 1, 2013
WOW THANKS FOR THE HELP!
THE EXACT DIALOG BOX - just after win 8 boots.
"titled- "Microsoft visual C++ run time library - run time error" - end title
(RED X is displayed) Program C:\pro ((which I cant find at all- been using windows since version 3!))
This application has requested the run time to terminate in an unusual way
Please contact the application support team for more info
well.....thats it

QuantumCD

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2012