Calling all regulars - Need help

trikstadude3

Distinguished
Nov 24, 2009
I'm seriously considering getting this laptop :

http://www.ciao.co.uk/Productinformation/ASUS_K61IC_JX019V__7457160

The card listed is the NVIDIA GT 220 M with 1GB VRAM .

I have no knowledge whatsoever about this card, so need some opinions ;

Will it play Far Cry 2, Assassins Creed, GTA IV with medium/high settings at 1024x768 ? That's the resolution I usually play at.

I also mostly play a game called Combat Arms, will this max it out ?

Also give me some opinions about the laptop itself.

Solution
Low or medium maybe. High, no.

The GT220M is most likely weaker than the desktop GT220, which in turn performs between a 9400GT and 9500GT (both of which are non-gaming card)

You might be able to play most those games on low/medium. Assassins creed with medium/med-high.

Also, FarCry2 and GTA4 are very CPU intensive. You can get away with 30fps in FaryCry2 with a 2.0GHz mobile P2D, but not GTA4. Even with lowered resolutions/settings, GTA4 is a horribly coded console port that will make your fps unplayable without a powerful cpu.

What country are you in and what is your budget?
Low or medium maybe. High, no.

The GT220M is most likely weaker than the desktop GT220, which in turn performs between a 9400GT and 9500GT (both of which are non-gaming card)

You might be able to play most those games on low/medium. Assassins creed with medium/med-high.

Also, FarCry2 and GTA4 are very CPU intensive. You can get away with 30fps in FaryCry2 with a 2.0GHz mobile P2D, but not GTA4. Even with lowered resolutions/settings, GTA4 is a horribly coded console port that will make your fps unplayable without a powerful cpu.

What country are you in and what is your budget?

Solution

trikstadude3

Distinguished
Nov 24, 2009
Is the CPU good on the laptop ? I thought C2D was better than Dual Core, but this is only dual core 2.1GHz. Is it a bad processor ?