[SOLVED] can I disable NVMe slot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kalik212

Distinguished
Sep 28, 2015
I'm new to NVMe drives so forgive the newbie question...after an NVMe drive is installed is there any way for me to disable it without physically removing the drive?...I want the ability to boot into another SATA SSD drive independently...meaning I want to install another copy of Windows 10 onto the SATA drive and use that...is there a setting in the BIOS that disables the NVMe slot?...can I then re-enable it and get back the drive with everything installed on it intact?...I have an MSI X570 Tomahawk motherboard

with SATA SSD's (and older mechanical hard drives) it was easy to just unplug the SATA cable and plug it into a new drive

Solution
so if I do a clean install of the NVMe (without the SATA drive plugged in) and then plug in the SATA drive and do a clean install of the SATA, I'll be able to have 2 completely independent Windows installs?...so the SATA will no longer see the NVMe?...but with the NVMe being connected to the M.2 slot won't it always be showing up as part of any install?
Install on the NVMe, no SATA connected
Leave the NVMe connected, install on the SATA
The boot partitions WILL be merged on the NVMe.
And booting from either drive, you WILL see the other as the "D drive"

The only way to have two totally independent OSs is physical disconnection.
Both during the OS install, AND later in operation.

Any connected drive WILL be see as some other...