Can I upgrade my RAM?

EnergyBlast

Reputable
Nov 2, 2014
http://imgur.com/a/0HBFx#1 I seem to have four DDR3 1GB sticks (Dual Channel) inside my PC. My DRAM frequency is about 399 MHz (whatever that means :??:) I would like to know if I could upgrade the amount of memory and what I should look for in stores/online. If some of you could help me out, that would be great.

Could I replace these 4 and place 2GB to have a total of 8GB, or is that not possible? Do the new memory sticks have to be specific? I know that they have to be DDR3 for my PC to take it. (I'm most likely going to game on this PC, and I'm new to upgrading,)

Solution
You should be able to do just that. Installing 4 2GB sticks should be able to work, provided finding a compatible kit. Newegg has a memory finder that may help get you started. You would want to stick with RAM rated no higher than 1333 mhz and operates at 1.5V 1066mhz and 800mhz should work as well, albeit a little slower.

EnergyBlast

Reputable
Nov 2, 2014

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.140706-1506)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
System Model: Inspiron 560
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5800 @ 3.20GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.2GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4060MB RAM
Page File: 2492MB used, 5627MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

Card name: Intel(R) G45/G43 Express Chipset
Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Chip type: Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
DAC type: Internal
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2E22&SUBSYS_04391028&REV_03
Display Memory: 1695 MB

I'm upgrading to get a GeForce GTX 750 ti ( Since I don't even have a card. )