Can i use a m.2 ssd without an hdd even though it has both slots?

cashendawg

Commendable
Nov 30, 2018
I want to use a m.2 ssd which is compatible with my motherboard, and i dont want the extra storage from my hdd, can i just use the m.2 slot? And also, is there a way to copy all my files from my hdd to the m.2 ssd? Thanks guys! Btw I am using a msi gs73vr stealth pro 7rf laptop.

Solution
Solution

AlphaCompton

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2014
Yes and Yes. M.2 memory will show up as a regular hard drive. In rare cases you may need to use a driver in which you can follow the on screen instructions.
in order to copy from a regular hard drive to the m.2 (or any hard drive to hard drive) you can use software like Macrium which I think is free but there are other nicer options like Acronis True image and another free option like Clonezilla.
I work as a technician in a college so I've worked with clones for the 150+ computers I manage but for my personal computers I just reinstall everything, modern computers especially with faster and faster SSDs install everything so fast. I find my setup just gets better and better with each install.

cashendawg

Commendable
Nov 30, 2018
Thanks so much for the quick responses guys! I cant see my ssd in my pc in library, only my hdd, but i can see it in speccy and device manager. My hdd is 1 tb but only used 250 gb, and my m.2 ssd it 500gb. I think i am going to disconnect my hdd then plug it in through the usb port with an adapter, then find out how to put my files from there to my ssd. Will that work?

250GB is too much. You will need to uninstall some applications or games, and clean up the drive. I'd suggest uninstalling any applications you can reinstall later, and then do this:

Click the start menu and open "Settings". OR right click the start menu and select Settings.

Open the Updates and security settings.

Click on Advanced options.