Can Intel Xeon CPUs do graphics? (Beginner question)

aliasxneo

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2009
Hello,

Beginner here. I'm looking at putting together a home media server and was planning on using an Intel Xeon series CPU. However, I was reading somewhere that these CPUs do not have integrated graphics in them.

Does this mean I will need to purchase a graphics card just to get this thing to display to a monitor? Obviously I'm not looking at gaming on this thing, but I will need to have it connected to a monitor to perform initial setup.

Solution
There are sites that test the power consumption at the wall based on various configurations. Some use integrated graphics, others use a dedicated graphics card and they state which card they use. It's not cpu only power, rather system idle so includes the small amount of power consumed by a hard drive and motherboard. The more devices connected the more power will be consumed.

These are a few power consumption tests.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/8774/intel-haswell-low-power-cpu-review-core-i3-4130t-i5-4570s-and-i7-4790s-tested
http://www.anandtech.com/show/7963/the-intel-haswell-refresh-review-core-i7-4790-i5-4690-and-i3-4360-tested/2
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/intel-haswell-refresh_6.html

It will also vary slightly...
like said above, it depends. letting us know what xeon model you are looking at would help. being a home server im guessing it would be a lower end e3 model from a current/recent generation acrhitecture.

e3-1225v3? that processor has an igpu and would likely serve your home server needs extremely well.

torbendalum above linked the brand spaking new skylake family of xeons... here are the haswell based xeons that are defintiely going to be cheaper but not that much different performance wise.
http://ark.intel.com/products/family/78581/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E3-v3-Family#@Server

aliasxneo

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2009