Can Someone Help Me With The Instalation...? (about partition)

JunkFoodz

Reputable
Aug 9, 2014
sorry but im really new to this thing so i dont really know about this partition things...

1. I just built a new desktop with a new Hard Drive
2. I tried to install windows 7 and then theres this partition things came up

The question is...
1. What is this partition things...?
2. Do i need to create new partition?

sry about my english...english is not my native language pls understand

Solution
It it's a new drive, you shouldn't have any partitions on it yet. As for the 10GB unallocated, whoever created the primary partition didn't use the entire size of the drive. So just for an example, lets say you had a 500GB drive. When asked to make the primary partition and select the size, that person selected to use 490GB for the partition leaving the last 10GB unallocated. Normally when you are asked, the number in the size field is the entire size of the drive. Whoever made that partition changed the default value to 10GB less than the full size of the disk.

If you didn't make these partitions, first off you need to ask: If this is a new drive, why are there partitions on it already? It's possible you were sold a used drive...
Yes you need at least one partition on the disk to install Windows. A partition is a storage space on a storage device. You can have more than one on a single drive. However most people just create a single partition spanning the entire drive. Once you've created the partition, the Windows installer will do a quick format on it and then start copying files to it.

JunkFoodz

Reputable
Aug 9, 2014
im still confused XD

cuz there is 3 partition

first system reserve?
second primary?
third unllocated?

and why do u create more than 1? (more than 1 primary partition)

sry too many question >.<
i just dont understand partition definition in this one

So is Windows already installed and you are looking at this in Disk Management?