Cannot install things on my SSD

hastings.warren

Prominent
Nov 23, 2017
So this is probably very simple but for some reason I am having some trouble.

I cannot install things onto my secondary SSD hard drive, it is recognized in some places and not in others. It shows up on my "Device Manager" but not in my File Explorer under "This PC". I want to install certain programs/games onto the SSD but I never get the option to.

I am running Windows 10 Home 64-bit on an Alienware 17 R4 laptop.

I have attached an image to hopefully help anyone understand my problem, any help is appreciated thanks in advance!

2mmu1c0.png

hastings.warren

Prominent
Nov 23, 2017

I'm not sure? I'm not very good with these things. Is there a way I can check that? If it is set up that way, how do I change it? Thanks for the help

Is there some reason the HGST (Hitachi) HDD is serving as your system's boot drive? It would seem to make little sense when you have that Samsung 960 M.2 SSD. You have some reason for this?

You're certain your laptop accommodates the SSD and you've properly connected it? What does Disk Management show?

hastings.warren

Prominent
Nov 23, 2017
I can't figure out how to get the SSD to work, I would like it to be my boot drive and I would like to install most of my games/applications on it.

Adding a picture of the disk management.

Checking into the link from kanewolf re. caching stuff now...

hastings.warren

Prominent
Nov 23, 2017

Replied already but forgot to add, yes my computer supports the SSD and I didn't have trouble installing it...I just don't think I did it with the correct settings that I want. I want it to be my boot drive and I want to put some games/apps on it....I cannot figure out how to put windows on it (I don't have a DVD drive and windows just came with the computer on the HD, I bought the SSD seperately)

Thanks for any help

hastings.warren

Prominent
Nov 23, 2017

kanewolf

Titan