Can't boot from bootable USB drive

Sam__molloy

Reputable
Jun 29, 2015
I just built a pc and I am trying to install windows 10 from my bootable usb that I created using the windows software that creates a bootable usb. My motherboard is Asrock 980DE3. The USB isn't coming up as a drive to boot to. If there is no fix can should I buy a windows 8.1 cd and a portable dvd drive and boot from there?
Any help would be greatly appreciated as this is my first build.

Had a look through then manual for the board and found one possible solution:

Enter the BIOS and go to Advanced > USB Configuration > Make sure Legacy USB Support is set to Enabled, or Auto (either setting should work for your purposes). Also make sure that the USB port you are connecting the drive you prepared earlier is 2.0. Some USB 3.0 ports are rather picky about allowing devices to boot, especially if they are connected to third party controllers on the motherboard. Your mobo happens to use the Etron EJ188, so booting from it could very well be an issue.

Sam__molloy

Reputable
Jun 29, 2015

I've managed to get onto the windows 10 installation screen but it says the device drivers aren't there. Any idea on a fix for this?

Sam__molloy

Reputable
Jun 29, 2015

I tried that and had no results. Still prompts me to load driver and says no device drivers are found.

Sam__molloy

Reputable
Jun 29, 2015

I'm just using a usb drive and plugging into a USB port. What do you mean by different sata port?
P.s This is my first build

The SATA port the hard drive you are trying to detect is connected internally. Try moving it to a different one.

980DE3U3S3(L1).jpg

Image of your board is shown above. If the drive you're trying to install to is connected to one of the two gray sata ports at the left-center of the image, try moving it to one of the 6 black sata ports at the far left. Once connected to one of those black ports, the Windows 10 installer should detect the drive.