Question Can't get my first build to boot or even power on ?

Jul 31, 2021
Okay guys, this is my first build and first thread so if I need to post elsewhere or miss any crucial info lmk. So for starters ill list my specs but i bought replacement ram and a new mobo over the time since this problem began. I started with an Asus x 370-f mobo with a ryzen 5 2600x cpu that I got from a friend. Had 2 x 8 gb tridentz rgb ram, an EVGA Geforce 1080 FTW graphics card. and a corsair 850 gold power supply. For storage, i use a samsung 860 evo 250 gb ssd and a 2 tb barracuda harddrive from Seagate I believe. Idk what caused the computer to stop working in the first place, but i lost signal to monitor but the pc turned on and the fans would light up and spin, including the gpu.

I thought maybe it was the board or cpu so got a b550 that i returned because it wasnt compatible with my cpu. So instead I ordered a b450-f 2 off amazon and when I tried it, I got no fans. no lights or anything. When I hit the on switch for the psu the standy I/o light comes on, but nothing happens with the power button or jumping the pins with a screwdriver. So ordered a replacement board and same deal, but when on the 370 board the lights will come on without video.

I've reset the cmos and took the battery out, tried in and out of case on all boards, bought another set of g skill ram, tried to update bios on the 450 board but 370 board doesnt bios flashback button. I just can't wrap my head around what I messed up. After all this I wanna say cpu or bios issues are the cause because everything else works on my friends pc like my psu and graphics card. But his has an athlon so my cpu and board we cant test. Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated. I spent 900 on this altogether and I only had it working for like 2 weeks after I finally got it running. Thanks guys.

Take a step back and start over.