Question Can't seem to figure out what is causing my BSODs ?

michael.vaught1998

Reputable
Jan 1, 2018
25
1
4,535
0
I've been having BSODS for most of this mouth and I've done everything to try and fix everything besides running driver verifier. I know it's not a hardware problem since there is no overheating or faulty hardware like ram since I already ran tests in the past. The BSODS only seem to occur when I doing something in the browsers like watching YouTube or exploring the net or sometimes just idling around or do something in desktop while something like Discord is open. Nothing ever happens when I play Video Games for a long period only when the net or desktop is involved does the Bsod happen and it's mostly APC related. I'm am stump to be honest and I would like some help please if anyone doesn't mind.

https://www.dropbox.com/t/jQD9KiOy48TmpkZK here's a link to all the BSODS I've collected.

PC Specs
CPU: Ryzen 5 3600 (not overclocked or x series or xt)
Graphics Card: Radeon XT 5500 8gb XFX
Motherboard: Gigabyte AMD B550 Aorus PRO AC, BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. F1, 5/14/2020
Windows 10 PRO latest version- Version 10.0.19043 Build 19043
32G of RAM
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
58,223
4,733
161,190
10,352
What Power Supply? Make/model?

BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. F1, 5/14/2020
you are on 1st BIOS of the board, there are... 11 updates since then. They could help.
I would update to F15C (you don't need the ones inbetween, they are included.)
https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/B550-AORUS-PRO-AC-rev-1x/support#support-dl-bios
this shows how to update BIOS - https://www.gigabyte.com/FileUpload/Global/MicroSite/121/flashbios_qflash.pdf
Only update if you sure you not going to lose power during operation.. so not during a storm.

Also, once you update bios, probably want to update chipset drivers too - https://www.amd.com/en/support/chipsets/amd-socket-am4/b550

If you still BSOD after that I get a friend to check dumps.
 

michael.vaught1998

Reputable
Jan 1, 2018
25
1
4,535
0
Hello and thank you for posting, my Power supply is a Super Flower Leadex III 850W 80+ Gold, Three-Way ECO Mode Fanless, Silent & Cooling Mode, FDB Fan, Full Modular Power Supply, Dual Over Power Protection, SF-850F14HG. And I'll try updating the bios, although isn't bios flashing/updateing a bit risky
As for my ram Team T-FORCE VULCAN Z 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin PC RAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Intel XMP 2.0 Desktop Memory Model
and CORSAIR - VENGEANCE LPX 16GB (2PK x 8GB) 3600MHz DDR4 C18 DIMM Desktop Memory - Black

I also have a 4 terabyte red hardrive and for ssd I got:

SanDisk - Ultra 500GB PCIe Gen 3 x4 NVMe Internal Solid State Drive and WD - Blue SN550 500GB PCIe Gen 3 x4 NVMe Internal Solid State Drive with 3D NAND Technology which where my windows 10 install is on. Also could I put the bios update on these or do I need another type of flash drive? PNY - 16GB Attaché 4 USB 2.0 Flash Drive?
 

michael.vaught1998

Reputable
Jan 1, 2018
25
1
4,535
0
APC bucket information does mention
0x1_SysCallNum_4_ANALYSIS_INCONCLUSIVE!unknown_function
which I do not know what that means alongside for IRQL AV_tcpip!TcpPeriodicTimeoutHandler and
AV_nt!PpmIdleUpdateConcurrency. I also made sure to update and check for newer updates for the display and chipsets along stuff like audio, lan, and blue tooth realtek.
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
58,223
4,733
161,190
10,352
tcpip = transmission control protocol/Internet protocol
Windows uses it to talk to LAN drivers. among other things.

if its LAN, do you use WIFI or Ethernet?

Gigabyte don't appear to have newest Ethernet yet.
is this windows 10 or 11?
If 10, download Win10 Auto Installation Program (NDIS)
if 11, download Win11 Auto Installation Program (NetAdapterCx)
from under the windows header on here - https://www.realtek.com/en/component/zoo/category/network-interface-controllers-10-100-1000m-gigabit-ethernet-pci-express-software

Its harder to say about WIFI, as it mentions version 1.2... i don't see any revisions of the motherboard so I am unsure what that means.
https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/B550-AORUS-PRO-AC-rev-1x/support#support-dl-driver-wlanbt

Also could I put the bios on these or do I need another type of flash drive? PNY - 16GB Attaché 4 USB 2.0 Flash Drive?
it should work. it doesn't need to be a bootable USB, so any should do.

Some of your BSOD could be caused by having the oldest BIOS with newer drivers.
 

gardenman

Distinguished
Moderator
Hi, I ran the dump files through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/y06drwg3/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.
File information:072122-6156-01.dmp (Jul 21 2022 - 09:49:13)
Bugcheck:APC_INDEX_MISMATCH (1)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: opera.exe)
Uptime:1 Day(s), 10 Hour(s), 30 Min(s), and 11 Sec(s)

File information:071922-6250-01.dmp (Jul 19 2022 - 04:24:53)
Bugcheck:APC_INDEX_MISMATCH (1)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: Discord.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 3 Hour(s), 25 Min(s), and 34 Sec(s)

File information:071722-6546-01.dmp (Jul 17 2022 - 16:31:26)
Bugcheck:IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 16 Hour(s), 03 Min(s), and 14 Sec(s)

File information:071422-6390-01.dmp (Jul 14 2022 - 14:25:44)
Bugcheck:IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: System)
Uptime:1 Day(s), 5 Hour(s), 44 Min(s), and 53 Sec(s)

File information:071122-8312-01.dmp (Jul 11 2022 - 04:24:02)
Bugcheck:APC_INDEX_MISMATCH (1)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: brave.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 3 Hour(s), 26 Min(s), and 16 Sec(s)
Comment: 2 or more types of RAM are installed.

Possible Motherboard page: https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/B550-AORUS-PRO-AC-rev-1x

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
58,223
4,733
161,190
10,352
How long have you been using Teamgroup and Corsair ram at same time? coincide with errors at all?

An asynchronous procedure call (APC) is a function that executes asynchronously. APCs are similar to deferred procedure calls (DPCs), but unlike DPCs, APCs execute within the context of a particular thread. Drivers (other than file systems and file-system filter drivers) do not use APCs directly, but other parts of the operating system do
victims are all internet related. 4th crash mentions tcpip.sys
if you use WIFI, these are old.
Sep 03 2019Netwtw04.sysIntel Wireless Wifi Link driver https://downloadcenter.intel.com/
I would run this to update the drivers - https://www.intel.com.au/content/www/au/en/support/intel-driver-support-assistant.html
I don't see these often, are you running RAID?
Jul 20 2020rcbottom.sysAMD-RAID RC Bottom driver
Jul 20 2020rccfg.sysAMD-RAID Configuration driver
Jul 20 2020rcraid.sysAMD-RAID MiniPort driver (Dot Hill Systems Corp.)
 

michael.vaught1998

Reputable
Jan 1, 2018
25
1
4,535
0
well, it can cause errors but if you been using them for over a year, and not had BSOD the entire time, it is probably fine.

RAID is fine, I just don't see them often.
Like I said, It only ever seems to happen in desktop with something like discord open or when I'm watching YouTube or browsing the web. I have never had a bsod happen while gaming and I could game for hours and nothing will happen. <Mod Edit>, I've days where I've left my computer on 1-5 days and nothing ever happens.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
58,223
4,733
161,190
10,352
well, of the last 5 BSOD, 3 of them show victim as internet apps. So I see the pattern you describe. Its why I suggested Ethernet cable or WIFI drivers.
BIOS updated now?

I had a problem a few years ago that only happened sometimes. So I understand the frustration. It took me 3 months to figure that out, but it wasn't giving me BSOD. That would have been too easy.
 

michael.vaught1998

Reputable
Jan 1, 2018
25
1
4,535
0
well, of the last 5 BSOD, 3 of them show victim as internet apps. So I see the pattern you describe. Its why I suggested Ethernet cable or WIFI drivers.
BIOS updated now?

I had a problem a few years ago that only happened sometimes. So I understand the frustration. It took me 3 months to figure that out, but it wasn't giving me BSOD. That would have been too easy.
Yup Bios is updated to f15c. So this might (high probability) fix most of the issues and bring stability. I'll have to wait and see what happens, but at least the bios stuff is out of the way.
 

michael.vaught1998

Reputable
Jan 1, 2018
25
1
4,535
0
well, of the last 5 BSOD, 3 of them show victim as internet apps. So I see the pattern you describe. Its why I suggested Ethernet cable or WIFI drivers.
BIOS updated now?

I had a problem a few years ago that only happened sometimes. So I understand the frustration. It took me 3 months to figure that out, but it wasn't giving me BSOD. That would have been too easy.
I was good for five days until today at 7:30 PM when my computer bsoded again after I went somewhere else in the house temporally. This time it was kmode type of bsod with AV_R_ANALYSIS_INCONCLUSIVE!unknown_function. https://www.dropbox.com/s/57ddpye4u5hd6qh/072722-6421-01.dmp?dl=0
 

gardenman

Distinguished
Moderator
I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/muLyow72/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.

File information:072722-6421-01.dmp (Jul 27 2022 - 21:29:25)
Bugcheck:KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED (1E)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: steamwebhelper.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 22 Hour(s), 14 Min(s), and 44 Sec(s)

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
58,223
4,733
161,190
10,352
i must have been blind before when I looked at WIFI as your board has realtek WIFI but you seem to be using intel. Do you use a intel wifi USB stick?? which one? I see if I can find newer drivers.

Jun 02 2020Netwtw04.sysIntel Wireless Wifi Link driver https://downloadcenter.intel.com/
Dec 22 2021ibtusb.sysIntel(R) Wireless Bluetooth(R) Filter driver (Intel Corporation)

its confusing when your board has WIFI/BT already.

I still think problem is internet related. only based on victim. Not blaming it.
 

michael.vaught1998

Reputable
Jan 1, 2018
25
1
4,535
0
i must have been blind before when I looked at WIFI as your board has realtek WIFI but you seem to be using intel. Do you use a intel wifi USB stick?? which one? I see if I can find newer drivers.

Jun 02 2020Netwtw04.sysIntel Wireless Wifi Link driver https://downloadcenter.intel.com/

Dec 22 2021ibtusb.sysIntel(R) Wireless Bluetooth(R) Filter driver (Intel Corporation)

its confusing when your board has WIFI/BT already.

I still think problem is internet related. only based on victim. Not blaming it.
No, I don't have a wifi stick or similar. Everything that is internet or wifi is intergraded to the board. I'm using a wired internet connection.
 

michael.vaught1998

Reputable
Jan 1, 2018
25
1
4,535
0
i must have been blind before when I looked at WIFI as your board has realtek WIFI but you seem to be using intel. Do you use a intel wifi USB stick?? which one? I see if I can find newer drivers.

Jun 02 2020Netwtw04.sysIntel Wireless Wifi Link driver https://downloadcenter.intel.com/

Dec 22 2021ibtusb.sysIntel(R) Wireless Bluetooth(R) Filter driver (Intel Corporation)

its confusing when your board has WIFI/BT already.

I still think problem is internet related. only based on victim. Not blaming it.
I'm using Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168 and I have already updated or removed and reinstalled all internet, Bluetooth, or wifi drivers.
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
58,223
4,733
161,190
10,352
I am not arguing with you, im just missing something here.
https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/B550-AORUS-PRO-AC-rev-1x/support#support-manual

im confused by the drivers showing for your board. The BT drivers are realtek, and in most cases, it means WIFI is also Realtek - most wifi chips also do BT.

but you have Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168 which matches drivers on PC.
Your system is probably right but it just seems odd. Realtek and Intel generally don't do each others hardware.
itbusb.sys made me think it was USB until I saw I have it on my PC too.
 

michael.vaught1998

Reputable
Jan 1, 2018
25
1
4,535
0
I'm using Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168 and I have already updated or removed and reinstalled all internet, Bluetooth, or wifi drivers.
I am not arguing with you, im just missing something here.
https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/B550-AORUS-PRO-AC-rev-1x/support#support-manual

im confused by the drivers showing for your board. The BT drivers are realtek, and in most cases, it means WIFI is also Realtek - most wifi chips also do BT.

but you have Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168 which matches drivers on PC.
Your system is probably right but it just seems odd. Realtek and Intel generally don't do each others hardware.
itbusb.sys made me think it was USB until I saw I have it on my PC too.
I really don't get either why do i have intel and realtek? I think it's something with windows 10. Could I just disable the driver by chance or swap it with Realtek?
 

michael.vaught1998

Reputable
Jan 1, 2018
25
1
4,535
0
The Intel drivers wouldn't have installed. SO there is that.
Intel® 802.11ac Wireless << according to here - https://www.gigabyte.com/au/Motherboard/B550-AORUS-PRO-AC-rev-1x#kf
so um, i guess I just ignore the realtek drivers on the page and wonder what Gigabyte are thinking.

Still doesn't get me any closer to an answer. I thought it was something. You use LAN anyway... wifi shouldn't be running.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/tcp1nb0tauvdke5/080122-6125-01.dmp?dl=0 here a recent one. It mentioned something to do with malious malware.
0x139_1e_INVALID_NEXT_THREAD_IMAGE_ntkrnlmp.exe
 

gardenman

Distinguished
Moderator
I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/ub4mt3kd/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.

File information:080122-6125-01.dmp (Aug 1 2022 - 10:25:38)
Bugcheck:KERNEL_SECURITY_CHECK_FAILURE (139)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: WmiPrvSE.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 9 Hour(s), 23 Min(s), and 57 Sec(s)

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY