Question Case cord connection help

Oct 3, 2019
Hello,
This is my first build and I'm having trouble figuring out where a cable from the case goes on the motherboard.

Case - Antec Dark Avenger
Motherboard - Gigabyte z390 aorus elite

Cord in question:
one side is connected to a case board controller, labeled data.

The cord goes is single from the case but breaks off into 3 plugs.

1 is female PWM 4 pin

1 is female xwd with 2 pin, 1 space, 1 pin

Coming off of the xwd is another cable that says for gigabyte mother boards only. It's a female 3 pin VGD. (Click on pic to enlarge)

Here is a similar pic as my motherboard:

Above the 3 pins in this next pic... You can see 1 pin, but next to that is a cap with 2 pins. So there are 3 pins in a row.

So right now I have the pwm in a sys fan 4 pin on the board.

I have the xwd plugged into the 2 pins, 1 space, 1 pin in the 3rd pic on the bottom.

Is this correct?

I'm wondering what to do with the 3 pin VGD that says only for gigabyte motherboards. Or if I don't do anything with it because the xwd is plugged in.

Should I take off the cap on those 2 pins in pic 3. And there would be 3 pins next to each other for the vgd?

Any help would be really appreciated!

Last edited:
Reactions: Jimmyt2
Since you have a Gigabyte motherboard, you should technically be plugging in the one that is meant for Gigabyte boards, the VGD. But if it only has 3 pins consecutively with no spaces, then that means it uses a different header and not the 5050 header into which you plugged in the XWD connector, so perhaps the Gigabyte-specific one adds some additional feature rather than being a replacement for the XWD connector - it is hard to say without a manual for the case, and I can't find a case named Antec Dark Thunder online either :/. Did you perhaps mean Dark Phantom? Or Dark Avenger?

Oct 3, 2019
Hello,

Thank you for the quick reply. This is my first build and I've researched but can't find anything.

Sorry, it is Dark Avenger.