Caster Level and Prestige Class

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

Prestige classes don't give a character benefits of his/her previous
class(es). But is caster level a previous class feature?

Example: Jonas, a Cle10, takes a level of Church Inquisitor. Jonas's
Spells per Day are based on the Cle chart, as though he were a Cle11.
Is Jonas's caster level, for determining the effect of the spell
Banishment (for example), 10 or 11?

How do/would you handle this in your game, and on what basis would you
make this ruling?

Sources of my confusion:

The Loremaster listing in the 3.0 DMG (p.34) states specifically that
the spellcasting caster levels (from prestige class and previous class)
stack. (The "Spells per Day" description includes "...she adds the
level of loremaster to the level of some other spellcasting class the
character has, then determines spells per day and caster level
accordingly." The Spells per Day column includes "+1 level of existing
class" for each Class Level row.)

The Church Inquisitor listing in Complete Divine (p.27) states that
spells per day are determined by adding the prestige class levels to
levels in a previous divine spellcasting class. The book doesn't
appear to mention whether divine spellcasting caster levels stack.
(The Church Inquisitor description includes "...when a new church
inquisitor level is gained, the character gains new divine spells per
day...as if he had also gained a level in whatever divine spellcasting
class he had belonged to before he added the prestige class. He does
not, however, gain any other benefit of that class would have gained
(improved chance of controlling or rebuking undead, more frequent
remove disease, and so on). This means that he adds the level of
church inquisitor to the level of another divine spellcasting class the
character has, then determines spells per day accordingly." The Spells
per Day column includes "+1 level of existing divine spellcasting
class" for each Class Level row.)
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

tempaddress20050427@yahoo.com wrote:
> Prestige classes don't give a character benefits of his/her previous
> class(es). But is caster level a previous class feature?
>
> Example: Jonas, a Cle10, takes a level of Church Inquisitor. Jonas's
> Spells per Day are based on the Cle chart, as though he were a Cle11.
> Is Jonas's caster level, for determining the effect of the spell
> Banishment (for example), 10 or 11?
>
> How do/would you handle this in your game, and on what basis would you
> make this ruling?
>
> Sources of my confusion:
>
> The Loremaster listing in the 3.0 DMG (p.34) states specifically that
> the spellcasting caster levels (from prestige class and previous class)
> stack. (The "Spells per Day" description includes "...she adds the
> level of loremaster to the level of some other spellcasting class the
> character has, then determines spells per day and caster level
> accordingly." The Spells per Day column includes "+1 level of existing
> class" for each Class Level row.)
>
> The Church Inquisitor listing in Complete Divine (p.27) states that
> spells per day are determined by adding the prestige class levels to
> levels in a previous divine spellcasting class. The book doesn't
> appear to mention whether divine spellcasting caster levels stack.
> (The Church Inquisitor description includes "...when a new church
> inquisitor level is gained, the character gains new divine spells per
> day...as if he had also gained a level in whatever divine spellcasting
> class he had belonged to before he added the prestige class. He does
> not, however, gain any other benefit of that class would have gained
> (improved chance of controlling or rebuking undead, more frequent
> remove disease, and so on). This means that he adds the level of
> church inquisitor to the level of another divine spellcasting class the
> character has, then determines spells per day accordingly." The Spells
> per Day column includes "+1 level of existing divine spellcasting
> class" for each Class Level row.)
>

Whenever a prestige class uses the "+1 level etc." language, it includes
caster level. For things like Mystic Theurge, that's 1 for 1, so a
druid5/wizard7/mystic theurge2 has a caster level of 7 for his druid
and 9 for his wizard spells.

Note that the Green Star adept, as as class feature, heightens caster level
at every PC level, even though the "+1 level of existing class" is only
every other level.