CDRW track reading is slow and hanging

eden

Champion
Ever since I had my LG 16*10*40 I have been experiencing read problems compared to my old LG 4*4*32.
Many times the drive doesn't go on spinning during games and track changes in them and that causes it to delay games or hang them for a few seconds before it decides to start spinning again, meaning they will jam the screen and everything where the CDRW is there relaxing until it decides that it should spin back causing true annoying wait and loss of in-game concentration. In games where there is streaming music, it hangs until it spins, in others the loading is waiting in a blank screen where everything is waiting for the CDRW to decide to spin again. Isn't there some option to make it continue spinning rather than give up??
This truly annoys me not to mention I am not experienced in tweaking inside the firmware or anything like BIOS. My old 4*4*32 was so damn reliable because it would continue spinning during track changes in games and the stutter was not noticeable at all so I can play comfortably. This one seems not to cache anything or be able to and WinXP has no options for better transfer.

--
The other day I heard an explosion from the other side of town.... It was a 486 booting up...

Spdy_Gonzales

Distinguished
Mar 9, 2001
I don't know how to solve the problem, but if you have room in your computer for both drives, it would be a temporary solution.

"If it weren't for the last minute, alot of things wouldn't get done"

eden

Champion
Anybody?
Where else can I get support here other than LG itself?

--
The other day I heard an explosion from the other side of town.... It was a 486 booting up...

lagger

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2001
Perhaps increase or decrease the cache size in the file system settings in my computer properties ?, or enable \ disable dma in device manager|cdroms ?

lagger

<b><font color=blue>Checking under my north AND south bridges for trolls</font color=blue>

eden

Champion