Celeron Hyper-Threadind

c0d1f1ed

Distinguished
Apr 14, 2003
I'm a student and I like Celerons because they are cheap. But when are they going to support Hyper-Threading? I program a lot and I would like to optimize for HT and SSE2. Although they have a slow FSB and less cache, they still have the same processing power for the stuff I do. Any chance there will be new HT Celerons when Prescott is released?

YYZ_Slayer

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2003
There will not be hyper-threading on celerons. Its is not constucted into there core.

Anyone who clames they can tell the difference between 450 and 500 FPS in Quake 3 should be severly beaten in the head with a rock. :eek:

rcj187

Distinguished
Mar 20, 2002
anybody that says they can tell the difference between 150fps and 400fps needs to be beat in the head..
oh and no there wont be any hyperthreading celerons

ChipDeath

Splendid
May 16, 2002
still have the same processing power for the stuff I do
Seeing as Celerons get completly creamed in everything, I'm curious as to what it is you're actually wanting to use it for - what app is there that runs on a celeron at the same speed as on a P4 of the same speed?

---
The end is nigh.. (For this post at least) :smile:

sargeduck

Distinguished
Aug 27, 2002
There will not be hyper-threading on celerons. Its is not constucted into there core.
Actually, celerons are Pentiums that didn't quite make the final grade. On a Pentiums chip, the cache takes up most of the transistors on the chip. The possibility of some of these transistors not working right, or malfunctioning at the factory is pretty high. Instead of throwing out these perfectly fine chips, with only some cache not working, Intel takes these chips, lowers the fsb, disables any extra instructions, and sells em as celerons.