Question Centurylink C4000XG Wifi 6 Router

May 8, 2020
I just had 1 gig internet installed through Centurylink. The speeds have been very inconsistent. I have a lot of experience along side fiber optic connections, as well as many friends who are fiber optic installers in other areas of the state. I was told by them I may have an issue with one of my fiber connections, but obviously have no way of proving that. In my experience using other fiber connections, they are ALWAYS screaming fast. 1-5 ms ping times with 900+ Mbps Down /900+ Mbps Up, consistently. When they completed the install, they gave me this new Wifi 6 router (C4000XG). Technician said that it was just released a few weeks ago. My speeds so far have only been about half that, with ping times that are far from consistent, (through hardline, not wifi). Has anyone had any experience with these new routers? Just trying to get some info on if this new C4000XG is good or bad. I called Centurylink back out and they are looking into it, but everyone I have talked to seems pretty clueless on a fix. I am just wondering if there is maybe a configuration issue on my end? I am also running these tests on a brand new gaming PC, so I know my computer can handle the speed. Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks.

May 18, 2020
Just got off the line with them after a TON of calls and finally got to someone with real networking knowledge. Basically, the software for the c4000xg is <Mod Edit>, nobody has any real training on it and its not really integrated with their network. They don't have proper remote controls setup and aren't able to troubleshoot it. They launched a half baked product. You need to demand that they swap it out for a different model (ideally c3000X). The hardware specs are really enticing but the software isn't fully developed. This is not "by the books" advice and has come from several hours on the phone with a bunch of different reps and even a tech coming out.