Changing the Active Ethernet Jack Help Needed

edmuquit2003

Prominent
Apr 10, 2017
Really loving this amazing community, and the insight everyone has shared. I'm having a bit of trouble with my ethernet/router at home, and please bare with me since I'm a beginner at this stuff.

Backstory: I had the modem guy come out to change our active ethernet jack to a different room. So now I have ethernet in my office, but after having it in there I no longer want it there(sigh). So, if someone could help walk me through changing to another room in my house that has an ethernet wall jack I would be grateful.

Honestly, it took the service guy literally 5 minutes to change the active jack to a different room. All it looked like he did was unplug and plug things back into the switch, and asked me to test if the internet was coming out of the ethernet port hooked to my laptop in the office upstairs. So, I would rather try it on my own then pay the guy another $50, to come out and just unplug things.

Panel Box(located downstairs, office is upstairs):

1zl6csi.jpg

Switch:

2hdadcm.jpg

Close Up Switch:

2vmg9co.jpg

Port 8 on the far left is the one that is currently blinking and is the wall ethernet port in my office and its labeled fifteen. I want to change it to the wall ethernet jack labeled thirteen, I think that is the right one since on the door panel guide it says rear bedroom but I could be wrong. Also, port one is blinking too and I know that is the modem signal. I plugged that colorful wire into my laptop and I got internet, so I'm assuming that is what is feeding into the switch.

Failed attempt 1: Okay, so what I tried doing was since port number 8 was blinking, I thought if I unplugged ethernet cord fifteen and switched it with thirteen it would somehow work, but it didn't.