Question Changing thermal pads and repasting GPU | Gigabyte RTX 2080 TI Gaming OC

pklempe

Commendable
Sep 12, 2018
Hey everyone!

I'm trying to improve my GPU temps (RTX 2080 TI Gaming OC) because after two years of using the card they pretty much suck (see one of my older post). After some testing and reading about it online it seems that the thermal paste and pads used by Gigabyte aren't that great and that's why I want to replace them.

The repasting (I'm gonna use NT-H2 for that) and changing of the thermal pads doesn't sound that difficult but I'm worried about choosing the right thickness for the pads. I've found these pictures of the cards backplate, PCB and heatsink but I can't find an exact measurement of how thick they are. I believe they should be 0.5mm around the GPU and the rest on the PCB uses 1.0mm. The backplate should be 3.0mm but I probably won't change them because I can't find such thermal pads online.

Because this is my first time opening a graphics cards I wanted to ask if anyone has any tips or additional information for me. Maybe I even overlooked something or someone knows the actual thickness of the thermal pads used in this card.

Thanks in advance! :)

Lutfij

Titan
You will need a pair of sliding calipers, then tear down your existing GPU to take measurements. Armed with said measurements, you can then start shopping for thermal pads. BTW, if you have the funds, look for Fujipoly thermal pads, they are priced higher than any brand out there but they tend to transfer a lot of heat, compared to the competition.

pklempe

Commendable
Sep 12, 2018
Before you start messing with the card, is it in warranty? Is the card going to be in warranty after you do the work you want to do? Are you OK with losing the warranty or tossing out the card if you damage it while doing this?