Cheap way to get into PC gaming

Sep 8, 2018
I am looking to get into PC gaming. However, prebuilt models capable of running newer games are far out of my budget. I have little to none PC building experience. I have watched a few tutorials, and know the name and placement of most basic parts, but that is about it. Have any ideas?

Solution
Building your own is not difficult or risky if you read the instructions and do not force anything.

For what it is worth, here are two stock bits of advice:

------------------------------ budget build ---------------------------
For a budget gaming build, I like to recommend that one builds for future expandability.
That means paying a bit more up front for some parts that allow for an easier future upgrade.
A good rule of thumb is to budget twice as much for the graphics card than for the cpu.

Let me start where you might not expect:

1. Buy a good 450-550w psu or better. A quality 450w will run a card as good as a GTX1060 or possibly a GTX1070
Future graphics cards will be built on smaller 14nm so they should not need...

Dunlop0078

Titan
Ambassador
Well it's not cheap. To build a custom gaming PC somewhat comparable to a console you will need at least 500-600 dollars. Depending on what you need peripherals, monitor etc it may cost more.

So what is your budget? If it's around 400 US or less you probably better off just buying a console. You may be able to find something decent used if you look around.

Building your own is not difficult or risky if you read the instructions and do not force anything.

For what it is worth, here are two stock bits of advice:

------------------------------ budget build ---------------------------
For a budget gaming build, I like to recommend that one builds for future expandability.
That means paying a bit more up front for some parts that allow for an easier future upgrade.
A good rule of thumb is to budget twice as much for the graphics card than for the cpu.