Question Circumventing forced VPN tunneling?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Araphen

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2013
The net admin at work messed up the VPN settings so it now forces all client traffic through the VPN which breaks loads of stuff for remote users and he refuses to change it back because he thinks it fixed drive map issues (it didn't).

My plan is to just set up a virtual machine and install the VPN software on it then RDP into work through that but I can't decide which to use since I'm pretty new to this. I got hyper v working but it's too resource intensive so I tried moving it to my plex server and adding my plex server to my Hyper v manager but that's being a huge pain. I spent 6 hours on it and it's one error after another with zero progress.

Windows sandbox looks great and is super low on resource usage but there's no way to save state or reload once it's set up.

I was gonna look into VMware next but I think I'd have to pay for that.

Is there something like windows sandbox that doesn't delete itself on close?
Is there a better alternative to circumvent forced tunneling?

Araphen

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2013
Who is in charge of this network?
You? The admin? Your boss?

You don't "circumvent" anything.
You collectively come up with a plan and configuration that works for the company.

Is this plex server a company tool or resource?

The admin is in charge of the network but constantly breaks things. He makes changes like this without regard for the impact on anyone else and even if the CIO complains his response is basically "that's the way it is now because [reason that makes no sense]". He's new so we try to give him room to make mistakes and learn since finding a new net admin is a huge pain but I don't think he'll last much longer at the rate he's causing problems. But managing him isn't my job and in the mean time I have to be able to do my work efficiently.