Question Cmos battery died in my old pc and now died again in my new pc that has all new parts besides the case! What could be causing this?

Mar 19, 2023
My pc had never had a problem for almost 2 years. After going home for spring break and leaving it off, I came back to find no display when it booted and it would not boot past dram. I did everything I could and it still would not boot. I finally took out the Cmos battery and put a new one in and it worked. This happened again about 4 months later. I completely upgraded my pc with all new parts besides the case! I bought all the parts brand new. I have been using this pc for almost 3 months with no problem. I went home for spring break and came back to my pc doing the same thing as my old one. It could not boot past dram and there was obviously no display. From experience, the first thing I did was removed the CMOS battery in my motherboard and put a new one in and sure enough, it booted. Again, I have bought all new parts besides the case for my pc. New power supply, new ram, new CPU, new motherboard! I am not sure what is causing this! My next solution is to buy a new case because I'm not sure if the case could be affecting this problem. Does anyone has any ideas what could be causing this problem???

Reactions: rocker50

Ralston18

Titan
Update your post to include full system hardware specs and OS information.

= = = =

Where are the CMOS batteries being purchased? Did you buy a pack of them?

CMOS battery: brand, source?

May be a batch of defective and/or counterfeit batteries.

Mar 19, 2023
Update your post to include full system hardware specs and OS information.

= = = =

Where are the CMOS batteries being purchased? Did you buy a pack of them?

CMOS battery: brand, source?

May be a batch of defective and/or counterfeit batteries.