Compatability between LGA 1366 and 1155

joshuagahan

Honorable
Jul 3, 2012
I'm looking to upgrade my computer, and eventualy replace each of the components in the computer until I have essentially a new computer. Presently my computer has a gigabyte LGA 1366 mobo and I am looking to rip the mobo out and put a new LGA 1155 in. With the 1155 being the present generation of intel microprocessors, I basically want to ensure that for the next 2-3 years I will be running a viable chipset to upgrade upon (future-proofing, if you prefer). That being said I'm new to DIY computer building (barely know the difference between the north bridge and the south bridge) and I want to know what components will be incompatable between these motherboards. my processor is a i7 900 @ 3.2 ghz, graphics cards are GTS450 x2 (sli), 2x 30gb ssd kingston drives in raid 0, I have 6gb of DDR3 ram (either 2x3 or or 3x2).

The LGA1366 platform and the LGA1155 platform are two different sockets and the CPUs on each platform are incompatible with the other platform. These CPUs are still quite powerful and I don't think that you need to upgrade yet.

At a bare minimum you would need to buy a new CPU, new motherboard, new RAM (unless you're okay with only 4GB in dual channel or 6GB in single channel), and a new GPU because your current one is kinda meh by today's standards.

I personally think that your system is still very viable. If you want to invest in something invest in some more memory (if your motherboard has 6 DIMM slots you can buy a matched set of memory identical to that which you already have which will bring you up to 12GB) and perhaps a better GPU. There's no need to change your processor or motherboard at this time.

joshuagahan

Honorable
Jul 3, 2012