Compatibility of Motherboard change-out

JonnyLo

Honorable
Jan 22, 2016
Hi I am looking to replace my outdated AM2 MB with an AM3. I am curious if anyone can help me understand a few things before I do so. I am new to the hardware end of PC building but I have changed the PSU added a graphics card and have swithed out CPU's I have never attempted an MB switchout. My biggest concern is compatibility to the parts that are in my PC already. The harddrives are SATA and it is running Windows 7. What do I need to be concerned about as far as a switchout? Am I good with any MB as long as it is SATA? also would I need to puchase a copy of windows for the new MB or is that info stored on my harddrive? I know I would need to purchase DDR3 memory also. Any info would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Solution
From experience with both of the brands, I'd pick either one. I generally buy Asus first, but I've had a Gigabyte Amd board that I liked. With that general budget, you might look at buying an Intel setup with an H97 chipset m/b(70'ish dollars) and an i3(100 dollars or so).
I think the issue you'll have is your Cpu might not be compatible with DDR3. What Cpu are you running now? Generally, if you are using a Cpu and DDR2(sounds like it), it isn't compatible with DDR3.

Otherwise, the OS is stored on your HDD, but, when you do a motherboard swap you are generally better off backing up and wiping/reinstalling the OS. It can get mess if you don't(odd errors and the like).

Most likely what you'll need is a full upgrade. Cpu, Motherboard and Ram. Right now I'd wait because the new AMD offerings aren't too far into the future, and the current products aren't really worth buying now. Most times Intel makes more sense when doing a major upgrade like this.

JonnyLo

Honorable
Jan 22, 2016