Component selection recommendations and/or comments

Dennisjbl_787

Reputable
Jan 18, 2016
I want to build my own custom PC. My needs are mainly working with CAD software, MATLAB and Ansys, and gaming on the side. I don't want a full fledge workstation, just one that can run the programs (I'm a college student). By budget is $1500 to $1800 (could push to $2000). I am also aiming for a White/black with blue illumination build.

The build (https://pcpartpicker.com/list/JdcDFt)

CPU:
-I chose a i7-8700K over the 9700K because I dont think the extra $100 justifies the minimal increase in performance. I also dont want to break my bank with an i9 or a Xeon processor. I also think the programs i'll be running can benefit from the 6-core the 8700K offers, as well as the possibility for overclocking with a water cooler (nothing too excessive)

CPU cooler:
-Corsair - H100i Pro 75 CFM. I'm fairly new with the whole water cooling thing, so any recommendations here are more than welcomed.

Motherboard:
-MSI-B360 Gaming Artic. I wanted a motherboard that supported and M.2 ssd, and if possible, that was white. I think this one does a decent job.

Memory:
-T-Force Delta RGB 2x16GB 2666MHz. I want 32GB of RAM, not sure if I should go with 4-8GB sticks or 2 with 16GB. Also, not sure if that speed is adequate or if I should go higher.

Storage:
-970 EVO 500GB. Plan to install OS and the main programs here (like Ansys, Siemens NX, Matlab, etc.).
-Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200RPM. To install games and other data.

GPU:
-Galax GTX 1070 TI EX-SNPR White. Would got for a GTX 1080 if I could find a reasonable priced one (I'm seeing them for $1000+ on NewEgg).

PSU:
-SeaSonic Prime SnowSilent 550W. I think I should go with a higher Wattage system if I plan to overclock.

Case:
-Corsair - Crystal 460X RGB White. I want a case with a good view to the inside of the case and good airflow.