CompTIA discouragement

Status
Not open for further replies.

BoodaGazelle

Reputable
Dec 16, 2019
After retiring from 37 years as a software engineer, I got bored, and decided to look at getting my CompTIA A+ certification
to see about working in a new area. With my experience, I obviously know quite a bit of the content already, but also understand
that I will really have to study to pass this. I have been working with Mike Meyers book and videos, as well as Professor Messer's.

Most of the time, I have been getting about 80% correct when I take various test exams found online. The other day, however, I
took one that I had not studied for, and got only 44%. This was one on configuring mobile devices, mostly about email. The test
seemed to be completely about which TCP ports to configure various email services, such as POP3, IMAP, et al.

This made me want to drop the entire CompTIA project. The video even admitted that nowadays, no one sets these values, as they
just use the built-in apps on the phone or tablets.

I know this is not a question, but more of a rant, but I figured I would see if anyone would tell me to stick with it, it will still be worth it
to get your A+ cert....

Thanks,

Mitch

Ralston18

Titan
This:

"The video even admitted that nowadays, no one sets these values, as they ust use the built-in apps on the phone or tablets."

What is that quote about "in the land of the blind the one-eyed man is king"...?

So if you have the knowledge and skills that no one else has or may not even pay attention to - then you/your skills are valuable.

Especially when those "no ones" manage to mess around with and otherwise misconfigure the built in apps.

You can fix.

If that is your goal then stick with it.

Just a thought.....