[SOLVED] Computer Freezes while playing games.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 23, 2021
I originally built this pc for music production but during the past 4 years it has served as a gaming setup I have only updated the gpu a couple of times but the other parts are from the original built and they still work perfectly in any game I throw at them. When I built the computer I had no clue what I was doing but somehow I got it running I have no deeper knowledge about volts or other things that professionals have and I don't think I ever updated any drivers manually other than gpu drivers so some of the drivers may be ancient.

I played RDR2 for the past 2 years mainly with no major issues but recently my computer started to freeze during gameplay on other games. I have been playing Rise of the Tomb Raider as of late and after around 10-30 min game just freezes and I can do nothing else than restart the computer. I decided to take the computer apart and examine if there is any indication of what the problem might be. I removed every single component from the motherboard as well as all the power cables. I plugged back cpu, ram's, gpu, ssd, and all the power cables. I started tomb raider again running with rivatuner this time so I could see some stats. When the computer freezes there are no visible signs in temps or motherboard to indicate the problem but after about 15-30 seconds red light between cpu and ram slots lights up I don't know if it is meant for the rams or for the cpu but here is also some photos and stats I attached if they give you any clues. And yeah I know that some of the parts look silly, at the time I built the computer I did not know I can't overclock the cpu so thats why there is that monster cooler :D

The rig is currently out from chassis sitting on my table ready to go for any testing you suggest, cheers!

Hardware that is currently plugged in:
Motherboard: Asus Z10PE -D8 WS
CPU: Intel Xeon E5 2630 V3