Computer freezing: Help set BIOS for G.Skill RAM?

jorgegonzalez

Honorable
Dec 27, 2012
I have never fiddled with RAM speeds, so please excuse my noobiness, and all the info I've seen online is mentioned tCK and COPD or some such and I don't know what they're talking about, so if you can answer and be a bit more specific, please let me nkow.

I have 2 4GB G.Skill Sniper sticks, DDR3-1866
F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR

a motherboard:
ASUS F2 A85-M CSM

And an APU:
AMD A10 5800K

My computer keeps randomly freezing, and I've checked everything else, currently running a memtest that seems to be doing just fine, so I think I need to change something in the BIOS, but I've never done it before. Anyway, hoping that changing something in the BIOS will make my computer stop freezing.

Manually input DRAM Frequency, Timings, and Voltage. Or, enable the DOCP/EOCP enhanced performance profile.

In addition, you may need to boost CPU-NB Voltage +0.05V. Once you input these values, the computer should be stable. If not, test each module individually to see if both perform the same. Also, make sure you have the latest BIOS for the motherboard.

Keep me posted on the result.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

The RAM information is always on the memory and packaging. For that model, it is DDR3-1866, 9-10-9-28 1.50V

DOCP/EOCP is the automatic feature, if enabled, the motherboard can detect and set all the values above. Otherwise you would have to input each manually.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

jorgegonzalez

Honorable
Dec 27, 2012
Okay, so I updated BIOS to version 5107, set the DOCP to those settings, but still didn't find a way in BIOS to set NB voltage (the UEFI just has offset ratings, no voltage settings that I could see). So I got AMD Overdrive and increased the voltage that way, from:

NB VID Target 1.1875 Current: 1.2
to
NB VID Target 1.2400

And the computer still freezes randomly.