Computer Newbie Upgrading PC, help please.

brownlittlepony

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2010
Help please,

I am a computer newbie.

Bought a new computer (Acer) for $2000, not USD, so don't worry about it costing too much =P, (Though it still cost much to me!)

The thing is that, i cannot play lots of games with good framerate, help!

Source games, 60 fps per second. Source games like zombie panic source, tf2, etc. But in high settings =)

Computer specs below :

-----------------------------------------------

Intel Core i7 920 processor @ 2.67 ghz

Nvidia GT 130 @ 1.5 Gb dedicated memory

6 GB 1333 mhz DDR 3 Ram, and 2 GB 1033 mgz DDR3 ram (This is weird, i know. The extra 2 gb is free)

Motherboard : Don't know =( <Help?>

Monitor : 1920 X 1080, acer monitor. 23" (Inch). Acer x233h i think.

750 GB hard disk space. A c; drive and a d; drive.

I don't know my PSU, but i think it's 450 w - 500 w. I saw it when the acer guy came down to fix my computer. ^^ :)

-----------------------------------------------

Is my processor good?

Graphic card, is it good? :wahoo:

Ram, erm. Should i take away the extra 2 gb? Will it matter?

Monitor, shouldn't be a problem? :lol:

Harddisk, big enough? I plan to upgrade it.

PSU? I heard that people say it isn't good.

----------------------------------------------

Thanks guys! :)

Tell me what need upgrades.

I don't need SLI or Crossfire, 1 graphic card is good for me. If that's the case, motherboard shouldn't matter, right?

--------------------------------------------

There goes, hope you all reply! =)

Thx :pt1cable:

abhishekk89

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2009

agree with rockstone1

the graphics card is what's pulling you behind in performance..

get the ATI 4890 or if u can afford the new 5850... It draws less power and may not need u to change ur psu(if it doesn't support 4890)

brownlittlepony

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2010
Thanks for the replys, people! :pt1cable: