Computer Science? or Engr.? or I.T.?

zaphate

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2009
1. Which has the higher demand/salary?
2. What are the common things about them?
3. What are the different things about them?
4. Where does Comp. Sci/Engr/I.T. focus on?

Thanks in advance!

I'm a graduating computer technician student and I want to pursue more of my career by achieving a degree.

I enjoy programming, networking, desktop support or any troubleshooting as long as I'm working with a computer. I'm more capable on programming and I think I enjoy it more a little. But I'm afraid if I choose Comp. Science, would I be stuck sitting in front of a computer the whole day and only knows about programming? If I.T., some people says that demands for I.T. graduates are becoming less in the near future. If Comp. Engr., would I be stuck in computer repairs? BUT if the comp. engrs. do some programmings/networking, I think that would be my choice.

I want to have a job not focusing on doing only just one thing.

Zenthar

Distinguished
I can answer for here in Quebec (Canada), I'm not sure how things change from place to place.

I think it all depends on what you like the most. On a scale ranging from "hardware" to "software", computer eng. would be mostly on the hardware side, computer science would be mostly on the software side and software eng. would probably be the middle point and IT would sit between computer science and software eng.. They all do a little programming I think, but amount of time they spend on such tasks will vary.

Where I studied for my soft. eng. degree, we also had an IT program, but it isn't what most would call IT (sysadmin and the likes), it was more like an "applied science" branch of computer sciences. Most of the classes were multimedia or e-commerce oriented. The multimedia part isn't the 3D Studio max stuff, it's information gathering, processing, analysis and display in a multimedia context (ex: voice recognition, text to speech, ...).